Soares, Barretto Jr. top Poker Run

More than 360 off-road motorcyclists and mountain bike riders kicked up a lot of red dust, Sunday.

The off-road enthusiasts participated in the annual Kaua‘i Off-Road Riders Coffee Fields Poker Run which covered more than 40 miles through valleys, coastline and farm crops in Kaua‘i Coffee and A & B Properties land.

“It’s always a treat to see parents, grandparents and families riding with the keiki,” said Trail Master Manuel Cabral in an e-mail from KORR.

Tom Leighton of Motorcycles Period said that without the approval of Kaua‘i Coffee, A&B Properties and other private land owners, the off-road enthusiasts would not have a place to ride.

“We must protect that privilege,” Leighton said. “A special mahalo goes out to both the Kaua‘i Coffee and A&B Properties for allowing Kaua‘i’s Off-Road Riders to host this annual family event.”

Following the day of running through the grass and red dirt, Division A/B saw Acey Soares, William Silva, Curtis Ritter, Mark Stiglmeier and Philip Pembrook take the top five slots.

Ronald Barretto Jr., Keani Andrade, John Sargent, Kathy Stiglmeier and Rick Simonian filled in the top five slots of the Division C, or adults.

Other finishers in the Division A/B included James Ornellas, Kawika Stillwell, Sheldon Ceria, Jesse Robbot, Al Stiglmeier, Lionel Ornellas, Marvin Oshita, Mark Javallana, Barey Simmons, Bruce Javallana, Quinten Perreira, Travis Talbo, Brian Fitchette, Rick Kinnaman, Burt Almeida, Garen Itamura, Warren Miyasato, Dennis Jacintho, Keola Estrella, Galen Itamura, Jason Arnellas, David McCleary, Shawn Avigueterro, Dante Gray and Greg Sokei.

The top 30 finishers in Division C following the top five leaders included Moses Selestino, Paul Andrade, Kaulana Kaneakua, Riley Takeyama, Ronald Barretto Sr., Greg Tacbian, Justin Donios, Thomas Martins, Gilbert Barretto, Rob Haugland, Mina Kamibayashi, Vance Kamibayashi, Doug Allen, Reena Barretto, Kevin Kawaihalau, Michelle Alimbuyogen, Jenson Sambrano, Ben Cummings, Michelle Fitzgerald, Hans Schaeffer, Matthew Bernabe, Rich Hoaglin, Jim Littlefield, Clarence Sambrano and Makoa Pa.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.