24 in council race

LIHUE — By Tuesday’s filing deadline, 24 candidates had officially filed to run for the Kauai County Council, while seven filed for the mayor’s seat.

Councilmemembers Arthur Brun, Arryl Kaneshiro, Mason Chock, and Vice Chair Ross Kagawa filed for reelection, while Council Chair Mel Rapozo, and Councilmembers Derek Kawakami and JoAnn Yukimura are seeking the mayor’s seat.

Kapaa resident Debra Kekauala and the head of the County’s Parks and Recreation Department Lenny Rapazo are also competing in the mayoral race, along with Hanamaulu resident Clint Yago.

Kauai holds an open election. After the Aug. 11 primary election, 14 of the 24 candidates advance to November’s general election, while two of the mayoral candidates will move on.

Reps. Dee Morikawa, Nadine Nakamura and Jimmy Tokioka filed for reelection.

In the 2016 election, 13 candidates filed for the race, while four filed for the mayoral races. In 2014, 20 candidates filed for the council race, while in 2012, there were nine candidates who ran for council.

The last day to register to vote in the 2018 primary election is July 12. Hawaii residents can register to vote online at olvr.hawaii.gov/ or call 241-4800.

Residents must be 16 to register, but will not be permitted to vote until they are 18.

District 15 Chair Janice Bond said this will be the last election Kauai residents will head to the polls in, because Kauai County will be the first in the state to switch to the permanent absentee ballot method.


2018 primary candidate list

The following is a list of candidates for August’s primary election.

Mayor’s Race:

Derek Kawakami

Debra Kekauala

Ana Mo Des

Lenny Rapozo

Mel Rapozo

Clint Yago

JoAnn Yukimura

State representatives:

Elaine (Queenie) Daligdig District 15

Stephanie Iona, District 16

Dee Morikawa, District 16

Nadine Nakamura, District 14

Jimmy Tokioka, District 15

United States Senate:

Ron Curtis (R)

County Council Race:

Dom Acain

Kanoe Ahuna

Juno Ann A. Apalla

Arthur Brun

Mason Chock

Felicia Cowden

Ted Daliddig III

Billy De Costa

Norma Doctor Sparks

Luke Evslin

Victoria Franks

Richard Fukushima

Cecelia Hoffman

Shaylene Iseri

Ross Kagawa

Arryl Kaneshiro

Kipukai Kualii

Nelson Mukai

Wally Nishimura

Adam Roversi

Roy Saito

Shirley Simbre-Medeiros

Milo Spindt

Harold Vidinha

  1. No_They_Didn't June 6, 2018 12:25 am Reply

    Let me guess, lost, local, just want to be in politics, or flunk out of high school? What I see, lose and fail. Voting somewhere else. Joke…

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.