Eun Young is shocked; Poong confesses

K-pop idol group Black Pink just released their mini album “Square Up “on June 15 with four songs by YG entertainment. The four-member girl group is comprised of Jisoo, Jennie, Rose and Lisa. The group debuted in 2016 with hit singles “Whistle,” “Boombayah” and “As if it’s Your Last” in 2017.

This mini album has tracks “Ddu Du Ddu Du,” “Forever Young,” “Really” and “See U Later.”

The album surpassed 40 million views on YouTube in under 30 hours of release. By the 18th, the number of views was over 60 million and top 23rd in trending. Black Pink will have their first tour in Japan in July, holding six shows in Osaka, Fukuoka and Chiba.

Weekly update

‘Secret Mother’

Episodes 9 &10; 11 &12

Today, 6:30 p.m.: Eun Young comes back as a tutor. Yoon Jin decides to take Eun Young back, but has a hard time getting over the memory from that night. Eun Young hears her sister, whom she so desperately wanted to find, was brought in to the emergency room.

Today, 7:45 p.m.: Yoon Jin sees Eun Young and her husband together in a questionable setting. This sets off a flurry of gossip. Yoon Jin tells Eun Young about her daughter’s disappearance. Eun Young is shocked to hear the culprit’s name is Eun Young.

‘Wok of Love’

Episodes 17 &18 (Wed); Episodes 19 &20 (Thur)

Monday 7:45 p.m.: to Sae Woo that he’s separated from his wife. He’s shocked by something Maeng Dal tells him. Unable to hold back his desire to see Sae Woo, Chil Seong leaves the hospital. A wounded Chil Seong heads for Giant Hotel to retrieve Poong’s recipe book.

Tuesday, 7:45 p.m.: Sae Woo feels awkward between the two men as both men vie for her attention. Poong lets it known that his has feelings for Sae Woo but tells him he’ll give her up for Chil Sung. When the hotel’s head chef’s stay in Korea becomes questionable, he turns for another solution.

‘The Undateables’

Episodes 7 &8 (Wed); Episodes 9 &10 (Thur)

Wednesday 7:45 p.m.: A tug of war between Hoon Nam and Jeong Eum starts. Hoon Nam shows off his charming self and dating knowledge. The two get closer as they do matchmaking for others. Who will come out as the winner in this tug of war?

Thursday 7:45p.m.: Jeong Eum and Hoon Nam kiss and analyze it afterward. Joon Soo realizes that Jeong Eum is more than just a friend. Jeong Eum’s heart flutters when she’s with Hoon Nam.

‘Rich Son’

Episodes 21 &22 (Fri); Episodes 23 &24 (Sat)

Friday, 7:45 p.m.: Young Ha feels she’s somehow led Tae Il on. Her guilt stops her from calling Gwang Jae. Kyung Ha continues dating Hyun Bin for what he has to offer. But she can’t get over Yong. Suh Hee finds out about Kyung Ha and Yong. She decides it’s best to tell Tae Il about her feelings as soon as possible.

Saturday, 7:45p.m.: Mong Mong gets thrown out of the dormitory. Mong Mong and Myung Ha go rooftop house hunting. Seeing how happy Bok Soon is working at the snack shop, Yong hands over his savings to her. Bok Soon feels both grateful and sorry.


Jeff Chung is general manager of KBFD TV, which televises Korean dramas with English subtitles. This column offers synopses of the dramas playing throughout Hawaii. Chung can be reached at 521-8066 or


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.