More than 200 ride in annual Hare and Hound, Poker Run races

Two hundred and fourteen riders gathered to tear up the trails over the weekend.

The fifth annual Boy’s Day Hare and Hound & Poker Run races, hosted by the Garden Island Motorcycle Club, took placeSunday in Omao.

“It was a good event. People were stoked,” said Bertram Almeida, GIMC president, on Tuesday.

Travis Talbo placed first in the A Class blackbelt or expert class. Stephen Rivera was first in the A Class 40-plus division, andErik Rita was first in the A class 39-and-under division.

Kala’i Akina took first in the B Class 39-and-under division, and Billy Carvalho was first in the B Class 40-plus division.

Richard Perez won the top prize in the C Class race, and Puncho Lopez won the D Class race.

The races are held in memory of Kapa Moke Jr., who died in a swimming accident in 2012. He was 3 years old.

In the hare and hound races, which is A class and B class, riders collect checkpoints along the course and the first to turn inwith all the checks wins.

In the poker runs, C Class and D Class, racers collect cards instead of checks and the whoever gets the best hand wins.

Results (times not available)

– A Class (blackbelt) — 1. Travis Talbo, 2. Keoni Akina, 3. Kawika Stillwell, 4. Peter Bierly, 5. Clark Satterfield

– A Class 40+ — 1. Stephen Rivera, 2. Kevin Weston-Webb, 3. Eric Nagao, 4. Kaleo Dawborn

– A Class 39-and-under — 1. Erik Rita, 2. Daniel Hurtado, 3. Mikey Blackstad, 4. Tyler Rodighiero, 5. Ryan Parangao

– B Class 40+ — 1. Billy Carvalho, 2. David McCleary, 3. Gilbert Nobrega, 4. Romero Dawa, 5. Jeff Guest

– B Class 39-and-under — 1. Kala’i Akina, 2. Brennan Perreira, 3. Cody Shibukawa, 4. Teagan Amorin, 5. Keith Miyoshi Jr.

– C Class — 1. Richard Perez, 2. Paleka Malama-Gomes, 3. Ty Werner, 4. Koen Camara, 5. Chava Greenlee, 6. Kory Bunao, 7.Issac Ulanday, 8. Kreig Medeiros, 9. Travis Bonnell, 10. Nikki Estacio

– D Class — 1. Puncho Lopez, 2. Brennan Corpuz, 3. Bradley Ancheta, 4. Danielynn Moke, 5. Waiehu Martins, 6. CaseyBernabe, 7. Talon Anama, 8. Keian Celebrado, 9. Leina’ala Kealoha, 10. Jamilyn Kelekoma


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.