Filipino Chamber awards scholarships

WAIPOULI — Nine students from Kauai — three from Waimea High School, five from Kauai High School and one from Kauai Community College — were awarded scholarships by the Kauai Filipino Chamber of Commerce Saturday during its Second Quarterly Meeting and Scholarship Awards Luncheon at the Courtyard by Marriott at Coconut Beach.

Marching into the crowded Paddle Room, the students made their entrance in grand style with fanfare and a slide show heralding each recipient.

Kauai High School graduating seniors receiving awards included Danica Ola, Christian Sandrowski, Brennan Suniga, Chelsey Anne Madama and Ruzea Bagcal.

Justin Fune, Carl Mecham and BreeAnn Cayaban were the recipients from WHS, and Robbyn Delos Reyes was the awardee from KCC.

Dr. James Dire, the vice chancellor of KCC, delivered the keynote address following the quarterly report from KFCC president Bobby Ayonon.

The highlight of the day included the presentation of scholarships determined by the KFCC scholarship committee chaired by Cyndi Ayonon. Committee members include Emma Ladendecker who served as emcee for the event, Marynel Valenzuela, Juno Apalla and Dr. Addison Bulosan — who was not going to receive a scholarship because he showed up in shorts, according to Ayonon.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.