Smith, Mayfield, Crowell elected to KIUC board

Incumbent directors Dee Crowell and Allan Smith have been re-elected and join newly elected former board member Jim Mayfield to the Kauai Island Utility Cooperative’s (KIUC) Board of Directors. These three directors will each serve for a 3-year term ending March 2020.

Merriman River Group submitted the official results for the 2017 Board of Directors Election Saturday afternoon. The results are as follows:

1. Allan A. Smith: 3,021

2. Jim Mayfield: 2,395

3. Dee M. Crowell: 2,392

4. KipuKai Kuali‘i: 2,212

5. Hermina “Mina” Morita: 2,131

6. Juno Ann Apalla: 2,124

7. Norma Doctor Sparks: 2,011

KIUC mailed 25,703 ballots and received 6,088, for a turnout of 23.7 percent, more than last year’s turnout of 21 percent.

“Our members from a strong field of seven picked three directors who have long histories with the cooperative,” said Board Chairman Jan TenBruggencate. “I anticipate they will hit the ground running and help us continue KIUC’s remarkable progress.”

Merriman River Group, a California-based election management firm, conducted the election.

The newly elected board members will be inaugurated March 28 at 11 a.m. in the KIUC Main Conference Room. The board will hold its regularly scheduled meeting at 1 p.m.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.