Inauguration Day Thursday

LIHUE — A new Kauai County Council will be sworn into office Thursday.

The councilmembers for the 2016-2018 term — JoAnn Yukimura, Mel Rapozo, Mason Chock, Arryl Kaneshiro, Ross Kagawa, incumbents, and new councilmembers Derek Kawakami and Arthur Brun — will take their seats during an inauguration ceremony at the Kauai War Memorial Convention Hall.

The meeting begins at noon. It will be called to order by Mayor Bernard P. Carvalho, Jr.

The new council will also choose the chair and vice chair. In the 2014-2016 term, Rapozo served as chair and Kagawa served as vice chair.

On Thursday, the new council will also appoint a county clerk and will discuss and adopt the Rules of the Council for the County of Kauai for the Organization of Committees and Transaction of Business.

These rules set the guidelines of how the county council is run — from the procedure for how public testimony is taken and spelling out the duties of the chair and vice chair to establishing the order and decorum of meetings.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.