Kapaa’s Napoleon, Texeira given POY honors

KAPAA — As voted for by the coaches, this year’s Kauai Interscholastic Federation football all-stars have been named.

The list of high school standouts were released late Tuesday afternoon. A majority of the list is comprised of players from this year’s KIF winner, Kapaa High School.

Sixteen Warriors were named on the list.

“It’s great. These kids deserve it,” Kapaa head coach Philip Rapozo said during Wednesday’s practice at the school. “Kids on the other teams also deserved to be all-stars. That’s just how the voting goes. Some guys get left out that deserve to be there. But I think the guys that are on it, they deserve to be there.”

Of the Warriors all-stars, two stood out most.

Senior quarterback Kurt Napoleon won Offensive Player of the Year. It is Napoleon’s second-consecutive year receiving the Offensive POY award.

Napoleon was not available during Wednesday’s practice.

“He helped the team in all aspects of the offense,” Rapozo said of Napoleon. “He did some punting. He threw for some touchdowns, ran for some touchdowns and caught some touchdowns.”

Warriors senior defensive lineman Kapena Texeira won Defensive Player of the Year.

Texeira said his season could have went better, but he’s happy the “hard work paid off.”

“It’s just a blessing. (We’re) out here work trying to work hard, and it (the award) came,” he said.

Rapozo said about Texeira: “Kapena, he’s had three really good years. But just this year, he was the best. In the past, he could have been the Defensive Player of the Year. Like last year, but he got beat out by a teammate who was really good, too. I’m glad he got his due.”

Rapozo also won Coach of the Year. It was his third-consecutive Coach of the Year award after his program won three straight KIF championships.

Waimea has four players on the all-star list.

“Well-deserved. I wish we could have got more guys on there,” said Waimea head coach Jason Caldeira. “I know we didn’t have the best record or anything like that, but I feel like we have a lot of all-star quality players on our team also. But it’s hard to choose between three teams. So, congratulations to all the players that made it.”

Menehune senior Cody Taniguchi was named twice on the list as both the offensive and defensive utility player. He played both running back and defensive back for Waimea.

“That’s awesome,” Taniguchi said. “I didn’t think that was possible, actually. One was good enough, but two is better. … It’s good because we practiced really hard this year. We feel accomplished.”

Caldeira said about Taniguchi: “I’m very glad he got the respect he deserved on both sides of the ball. I’m very proud of the way he performed this season. I’m just privileged to be a part of it, and I wish him the best of luck with his future. I hope he keeps it up and keeps making everybody proud.”

Kauai High has six players on the list this year.

Among them are two Red Raiders receivers: senior Jasper Jacinto and junior Jaykob Nakaahiki-Young.

“Well, they work hard,” said Kauai head coach Derek Borrero. “As I look at all of these guys, I think it’s deserved. They worked really hard and did everything we asked.”

Offensive linemen

Morris Unutoa, Kapaa, senior

Mikela Matayoshi, Kapaa, senior

Justin Fernandez, Waimea, senior

Robert Jon Garcia, Kapaa, junior

Taylor Barroga, Kauai, senior


Gabriel Keener, Kapaa, senior

Jaykob Nakaahiki-Young, Kauai, junior

Makena Tabura, Kapaa, senior

Jasper Jacinto, Kauai, senior

Running back

Leighton Moniz, Kapaa, senior


Kurt Napoleon, Kapaa, senior


Clifton Oliver, Kapaa, senior

Special teams

Izaya Valeria, Kapaa, senior

Offensive utility

Cody Taniguchi, Waimea, senior

Defensive linemen

Noah Simao-Raposas, Waimea, junior

Kapena Texeira, Kapaa, senior

Ikona Fernandez, Kapaa, senior

Franklin Passi, Kauai, senior


Jayson Hawthorne, Kapaa, senior

Mana Kupihea, Kapaa, senior

Waika Corr, Waimea, senior

Defensive backs

Dillon Apilado, Kapaa, senior

Edward Bernabe, Kapaa, senior

Christian Manera, Kauai, junior

Dusten Ramseyer-Burdett, Kapaa, junior


Kamuela Numazawa, Kauai, senior

Defensive utility

Cody Taniguchi, Waimea, senior

Offensive Player of the Year

Kurt Napoleon, Kapaa, senior

Defensive Player of the Year

Kapena Texeira, Kapaa, senior

Coach of the Year

Philip Rapozo, Kapaa


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.