Dingbats 8 sweep FIF Dodgeball

KAPAA — Dozens of players turned out for the Fun in Fellowship 10th annual Dodgeball Tournament at the All Saints Gym in Kapaa over the weekend. 

Sybil Nishioka, the tournament’s coordinator, said it was a special tourney because it marked the final one for her as director.

“My son Shane and the children who founded FIF dodgeball are all grown and will be graduating from college, soon,” Nishioka said. “It just felt like a good time to move on. It has been an honor and privilege to serve our community and I’m hopeful the program will continue in some form.”

She said it takes an army of volunteers to put on the tournament, including more than 30 referees, clerks, and a hospitality crew. Leading the list are All Saints’ Church members Faith Shiramizu, Nadine Nakamura, Dianne Tabura, and Nancy Wilson and many other volunteers.

“Most of all, I want to thank the youth and participants of FIF dodgeball who have been my inspiration and motivation all these years,” Nishioka said. “Their laughter, joy, enthusiasm, and fellowship is what this program is all about, and I am forever grateful for having been a part of it.”

The Dingbats 8 swept the Keiki in the 8 and under division, earning trophies for Best Uniform, Best Sportsmanship, and the Tournament Team.

Team members include Joshua Rego, Racen Pegeder, Kapono Sullivan, Kaimana Chong, Kailer Chow-Agor, and Mason Rivera who swept the division over the Red Flying Birds. Rego was also honored with the MVP honor while Pegeder, Kawika Levy of the Red Flying Birds, and Kyle Brockhurt earned Best Team Effort honors.

Makoa Chong, Tyrus Duran, AJ Galiza, Joshua Rego, Kapono Sullivan, Savannah Simons and Caleb Plowman made up the Dingbats 10 which captured the title in the 10 and under division over the Flaming Dragons and the Scorpions. Andre Porter of the Flaming Dragons earned MVP honors as well as the Best Team Effort honor with Simons and James Hastings.

Daileen Barton, Julia Cannizzo, Brant Haugh, Paul Ishida, Raiden Kurisu, Joshua Rego, Savannah Simons and Braden Tabura made up the Team X which topped the 13 and under youth division over the Terminators and the Kauai Thunder. Kurisu earned MVP honors while Lance Haugh, William Place, James Sanchez, Paul Ishida, and Ethan Inanod were named Best Team Effort winners.

True Kanaks, including team members Kaloe Aguiar, Raven Cummings, Braden Watanabe, Kalen Harder, Truvlen Burdett and Dusten Burdett, captured top honors in the 17 and under division over EYEZES and the Interceptors, Shane Ogata of EYEZES getting the nod for MVP. Ethan Gray of EYEZES, Selena Rivera of the Interceptors, and Watanabe were the Best Team Effort winners.

Team X copped Best Uniform honors with the Kauai Thunder earning the Best Sportsmanship and Tournament Team awards.

#TeamHashTag, including Daniel Alonzo, JJ Alonzo, Kuincy Cariaga, Preston Ikehara-Yasay, Keoni Kelekoma, Erin Nitta, Jen Tabura, Travis Visitacion, Megan Yotsuda and Sarah Alonzo, topped the Masters Division, Coed over the You Know You Wanna Hit This, and Galen’s Gang who finished with the Best Sportsmanship award.

Jannin Hashizume, Joni Hashizume, Daileen Barton of Galen’s Gang, Lylea Guerrero, Mike Takemoto, Tabura, Ryan Newman, Amy Palaroan and Mielissa Iida earned the Best Team Effort nods while Ty Shiramizu of Galen’s Gang got the nod for MVP.

The Game Birds, earning Best Uniform and Tournament Team honors, with Kiran Costa, Ladeveon Jones, Aharon Kaleikini, Noah LaMadrid, Shane Nishioka-Healty, Austin Reimer, and Ty Shiramizu topped the Masters Kane division over The Shield and the Manapua Munchas.

Daniel Alonzo of The Shield earned MVP honors while Kuincy Cariage, Mikey Takemoto, Dayson Nanbu, Kiran Costa, Travis Visitacion, Ethan Gray and Hoku Ho were announce the Best Team Effort winners for the Masters Kane division.

Nishioka said this year’s tournament was funded in part by the Sloggett Family Trust.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.