Breaking News

Breaking News

May Day and leis

LIHUE — Madeline Guyett said she was meant to be a lei maker.

“It’s not only May Day, it’s my birthday,” Guyett said Friday at the Kauai Museum. “On top of that, my middle name is Mae, so it must be that I was meant to be a lei maker.”

Guyett was one of the many award-winners named at the 35th annual Irmalee and Walter Pomroy Lei Contest, a traditional event celebrating May Day at the Kauai Museum.

Jodi Ascuena was overcome with emotion after being named the recipient of the Anna Sloggett Award for her Polynesian style lei utilizing red and pink hibiscus.

“These are happy tears,” Ascuena said. “This is the first time I have ever entered anything and won. I have to thank Kauai Iki who kept encouraging me to enter.”

Hundreds of lei decorated the Kauai Museum’s outside courtyard where people flocked to the collection of floral creations.

“Plumeria is my favorite flower,” said Gina Beyer of Loveland, Colorado, who was getting help closing a lei she created. “To be able and be here on May Day with all the lei is just so special. I’m so glad we’re here to enjoy this.”

Category Winners:

Pink/Red: Mary Lou Harachis, Linda Pitman, Madeline Guyett

Plumeria: Luella Lum, Taylor Savage, Luella Lum

Blue/Purple: Clair Krueger, Carlina Vea, Linda Pitman

Orange/Yellow: Clair Krueger, Jodi Gardner, Michael Koerte

White/Green: Michael Koerte, Jodi Gardner, Ulii Castor

Hat: Romang Rambaga Peake, Gary Fujioka, Luella Lemn

Ti Leaf: Jodi Gardner, Mary Lou Harchis

Mixed Colors: Michael Koerte, Elvrine Chow, Madeline Guyett

Prestigious Awards

Grand Hyatt Award: Linda Pitman

County of Kauai, Office of the Mayor Award: Kauai Iki

St. Regis Award: Madeline Guyett

Kauai Marriott Award: Sandy Takaezu

Kauai Beach Resort Award: Linda Pitman

Hanalei Colony Resort Award: Kirby Guyer

Grace & Lyle Guslander Award: Marina Pascua

Kauai Mokihana Festivals Malie Foundation: Pomroy Ohana

Sheraton Kauai Award: Pomroy Ohana

Marriott’s Waiohai Beach Club Award: Pomroy Ohana

Anna Sloggett Award: Jodi Ascuena

Family Flower Farms: Linda Pitman

Kauai Museum 55th Anniversary Award: Pomroy Ohana

Distinguished Presidents Award: Carlina Vea

Prestigious Board of Trustee Award: Elvrine Chow

Director’s Choice Award: Luella Lum

Hobey Goodale Award: Pat Finberg

Irmalee & Walter Pomroy Award: Kauai Iki


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.