KIUC nominating committee confirms six candidates

LIHUE — A Kauai Island Utility Cooperative nominating committee has selected six individuals to run for three director positions in 2015.

The committee selected Karen Baldwin, Dennis Esaki, Pat Gegen, Jan Kimura, William Peterson and Dennis Rowley to appear on the ballot for the March 14 election. Both Gegen and Baldwin are incumbents.

The nomination committee was chaired by KIUC board member Peter Yukimura and included community members Trinette Kaui, Alfred Laureta and Michael Murakoshi.

KIUC members may also be nominated by collecting 35 signatures of other members in good standing and by submitting a completed member petition to the nominating committee by Jan. 27.

Potential candidates are required to complete an application form and to attend an orientation session on the duties of a director. A director is one of nine representatives elected to three-year terms by members of the cooperative. The board of directors governs the business of KIUC and sets the strategic direction and policies of the cooperative.



Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.