All you need to know for today’s election

LIHUE — The stage is set and it’s up to voters to decide who will make the cut for the general election in November.

Polls for today’s primary election are open from 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. at 16 locations.

Thirty-three Kauai residents, including 11 incumbents, are running for 11 state and county seats up for election this year.

Incumbent Mayor Bernard Carvalho Jr. faces contention from three candidates — Dustin Barca of Kilauea, Debralynn “Mizdebz” DeSilva Carveiro of Hanapepe and Curtis Lake of Kapaa. The two who obtain the highest number of votes today will continue on to the general election Nov. 4.

Twenty candidates will face off in this year’s primary for a spot on the seven-member Kauai County Council. Incumbents seeking re-election are Jay Furfaro, JoAnn Yukimura, Mason Chock Sr., Gary Hooser, Tim Bynum, Mel Rapozo and Ross Kagawa.

Other council candidates this year are Arthur Brun, Felicia Cowden, Bill “Billy” DeCosta, Joanne Georgi, Ron Horoshko, Joseph Kaauwai Jr., Ernest “Ernie” Kanekoa, Arryl Kaneshiro, Sandra “Sandi” Kato-Klutke, KipuKai Kualii, Tiana Laranio, Arnold Leong and Darryl Perry.

The 14 candidates who obtain the highest number of votes in today’s primary — two for each vacancy — will move on to the general election in November.

At the state level, Rep. James “Jimmy” Tokioka, D-15th District, is being challenged by Dylan Hooser in the primary for the party’s spot. The winner will then take on Republican candidate Steven Yoder in the general election.

House District 15 includes Wailua Homesteads, Hanamaulu, Lihue, Puhi, Old Koloa Town and Omao.

Incumbent Derek Kawakami, D-14th District, has no opponent in the primary and will face off against Republican candidate Jonathan Hoomanawanui in November. That district includes Hanalei, Princeville, Kilauea, Anahola, Kapaa and Wailua.

In House District 16, two-term Democratic incumbent Daynette “Dee” Morikawa faces a primary challenge from Thomas “Butch” Kahawai. On the Republican side, Vince Flores and Victoria “Vickie” Franks will square off against one another. The candidate with the most votes from each party will move on to the general election.

House District 16 includes Niihau, Lehua, Koloa and Waimea.

The primary election is expected to move forward as scheduled, with state officials remaining in close contact with the National Weather Service in case adjustments are needed as a result of Tropical Storm Iselle. 

There are 12 candidates vying for the Governor’s race, including incumbent Neil Abercrombie (D), David Yutaka Ige (D), Van Tanabe (D), Duke Aiona (R), Charles Collins (R), Stuart Todd Gregory (R), Misty Davis (N), Khis DeJean Caldwell (N), Richard Morese (N), Joseph Spatola (N), Jeff David (L), Mufi Hannemann (I). 

In the U.S. Senator’s race, Democratic incumbent Brian Schatz faces a primary challenge from Colleen Hanabusa and Brian Evans.

The other seven candidates are Cam Cavasso (R), Harry Friel Jr. (R), Eddie Pirkowski (R), John Roco (R), Joy Allison (N), Arturo Reyes (N) and Michael Kokoski (N).  Other major races include: U.S. Representative, District 2, currently held by Tulsi Gabbard; Lieutenant Governor, held by Shan Tsutsui, who faces four democratic challengers in the primary; and Office of Hawaiian Affairs. 

For additional information, call 241-4800.

14th Representative District

• Hanalei Elementary School

• Kilauea Elementary School

• Anahola Hawaiian Homes Clubhouse

• Kapaa Elementary School

• Kapaa Neighborhood Center

15th Representative District

• Kapaa Middle School

• King Kaumualii Elementary School

• Wilcox Elementary School

• Chiefess Kamakahelei Middle School

• Koloa Elementary School

16th Representative District

• Koloa Neighborhood Center

• Kalaheo Neighborhood Center

• Hanapepe Recreation Center

• Waimea Neighborhood Center

• Kekaha Neighborhood Center

• Niihau Elementary/High Center


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.