Abercrombie thanks those serving on state boards, commissions

LIHU‘E — Gov. Neil Abercrombie was in attendance when 30 Kaua‘i residents were sworn in to various state boards and commissions Monday at the Kaua‘i War Memorial Convention Hall.

Abercrombie thanked the residents for stepping up and serving. He spoke on the importance of people getting involved in making the decisions that have an impact on both the daily and long-term lives of Hawai‘i’s people.

But Abercrombie was able to inject some humor into the seriousness, telling Val Tsuchiya, sworn in to the Koke‘e State Park Advisory Council, to make a vow about no hotels in Koke‘e. He also joked with Rowena Cobb, the Kaua‘i representative to the Real Estate Commission, about sharing in the hotel profits.

Abercrombie said the importance of serving cannot be understated, and he wanted to be present at the home county of where the residents live. He plans to attend similar events in the other counties.

Tony Ricci served as the emcee for the event attended by dignitaries and guests. Ricci also took the opportunity to talk about the importance of serving on a state board or commission.

The 30 people include Imaikalani Aiu, serving on the Hawaiian Homes Commission; Mark Begley on the Enhanced 911 Board; Janice Bond on the Hawai‘i Commission for National and Community Service; Jose Bulatao on the Koke‘e State Park Advisory Council; Stewart Burley on the Hawai‘i Aerospace Advisory Committee; Mary Buza-Sims on the Koke‘e State Park Advisory Council; Dr. Brian Carter on the Health Planning Council, Kaua‘i Subarea; Kathleen Clark on the Statewide Health Coordinating Council; Rowena Cobb on the Real Estate Commission; Monica Contrades on the Mental Health and Substance Abuse, Kaua‘i Service Area Board; Jaeda Elvenia on the State Board of Nursing; Honorable Judge William Fernandez on the Juvenile Justice State Advisory Council; Yvonne Foster on the Statewide Independent Living Council; Joel Guy on the State Foundation on Culture and the Arts Commission; Eric Ishida on the Emergency Medical Services Advisory Committee; Nathan Kalama on the Island Burial Council, Islands of Kaua‘i and Ni‘ihau; Pi‘ikea Keyes-Saiki on the Health Planning Council, Kaua‘i Subarea; Alan Kimura on the Emergency Medical Services Advisory Committee; Justin Kollar on the State Highway Safety Council; Paul Hyno on the Board of Directors of the Hawai‘i Housing Finance and Development Corp.; Trae Menard on the Natural Area Reserves System Commission; Melinda Montgomery on the Juvenile Justice State Advisory Council; Betty Moore on the Health Planning Council, Kaua‘i Subarea; Wilbert Pereira on the Advisory Board on Veterans’ Services; Tom Shigemoto on the Board of Regents, University of Hawai‘i; Albert Spencer on the Board of Taxation Review, 4th Taxation District (Kaua‘i); DeAnna Starinieri on the Health Planning Council, Kaua‘i Subarea; Loren Tanigawa on the Board of Certification of Operating Personnel in Wastewater Treatment Plants; Beth Tokioka on the Cable Advisory Committee; and Val Tsuchiya on the Koke‘e State Park Advisory Council.

The Office of the Governor oversees more than 160 boards and commissions established by the state constitution, statutes or executive orders, providing an opportunity for a cross-section of Hawai‘i residents to offer vital input, states the governor’s website.

Visit www.governor.hawaii.gov/about/boards and commissions for a listing of current vacancies as well as a directory of members and overviews of each board and commission.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.