Mahina Maeda strong at NSSA, Contest No. 3

PO‘IPU — Mahina Maeda finished with two firsts, a second and a fourth place to lead the National Scholastic Surfing Association, Contest No. 3 at PK’s break, Saturday.

A second finisher in the Explorer Girls and sixth finisher in the Explorer Women during the NSSA Hawai‘i Regional Championships on O‘ahu in March, Maeda milked the small PK’s break, capitalizing on rides extending to the reform under sunny skies and a brisk wind blowing off the Koloa plain.

Maeda finished first in the Open Girls division and the Explorer Girls division, adding a second finish in the Open Women and a fourth finish in the Explorer Women divisions.

Brianna Cope edged Maeda, topping the Open Women division and adding a first in the Explorer women division.

Natalia Smith was strong, finishing on top in the Open Longboard and Explorer Longboard divisions, getting a challenge from Kylie Nagy in the Open Longboard division after Nagy finished second in the Open Girls and third in the Explorer Girls divisions.

Kaimana Kinimaka topped the Explorer Men division but fell to fifth in the Open Mens, that division being taken by Luke Hitchcock.

Elijah Gates, topping the Open Juniors division, finished sixth in the Explorer Boys competition, that division being topped by Kaulana Apo.

Kainehe Hunt topped the Open Mini Grom division but could not overcome Eli Hanneman in the Explorer Super Grom, settling for second place. Hanneman finished third in the Open Mini Grom surfing and fourth in the Explorer Menehune division.

Results of the surfing at PK’s are:

Open Women: 1. Brianna Cope, 2. Mahina Maeda, 3. Jenna Forti, 4. Sierra Lerback, 5, Kiana Fores, 6. Makani Adric

Open Boys: 1. Barron Mamiya, 2. Elijah Fox, 3. Makana Panga, 4. Devin Brueggemann, 5. Cody Young, 6. Ryder Guest

Open Juniors: 1. Elijah Gates, 2. Christopher Blutharon, 3. Noa Mizuno, 4. Lucas Angulo, 5. Dane Rust, 6. Forest Elmer

Open Girls: 1. Mahina Maeda, 2. Kylie Nagy, 3. Kelly Graf, 4. Brittany Penaoza, 5. Sunshine Paley, 6. Nicole Bruggemann

Open Mens: Luke Hitchcok, 2. Dare Rust, 3. Kai Matsumoto, 4. Kalen Galtes, 5. Kaimana Kinimaka, 6. Tabin Shamblin

Open Longboard: 1. Natalia Smith, 2. Kylie Nagy, 3. Makani Adric, 4. Ocean Tsutsui, 5. Sierra Leiback

Open Mini Grom: 1. Kainehe Hunt, 2. Miles Frazier, 3. Eli Hanneman, 4. Ty Ty Kirby, 5. Sage Tutterow, 6. Reef Tsutsui

Explorer Juniors: 1. Tabin Shamblin, 2. Elijah Gates, 3. Kaimana Kinimaka, 4. Luke Hitchcock, 5. Kala Willard, 6. Joao Marco Maffini

Explorer Men: 1. Kaimana Kinimaka, 2. Kalen Galtes, 3. Tabin Shamblin, 4. Troy Weston Webb, 5. Joao Marco Maffini, 6. Jesse Guglialmana

Explorer Women: 1. Brianna Cope, 2. Jennifer Leon, 3. Kiana Fores, 4. Mahina Maeda, 5. Makani Adric, 6. Kelly Graf

Open Explorer Super Groms: 1. Eli Hanneman, 2. Kainehe Hunt, 3. Noa Hill, 4. Hendrix Frankenniter, 5. Ocean Maredo, 6. Ty Ty Kirby

Explorer Boys: 1. Kaulana Apo, 2. Lucas Angulo, 3. Taichi Wakita, 4. Noa Mizuno, 5. Christopher Bluthardt, 6. Elijah Gates

Explorer Girls: 1. Mahina Maeda, 2. Kelly Graf, 3. Kylie Ngy, 4. Nicole Brueggemann, 5. Sunshine Paley, 6. Sierra Larsen

Explorer Longboard: 1. Natalia Smith, 2. Makani Adric, 3. Sierra Lerbeack

Explorer Menehune: 1. Cody Young, 2. Devin Brueggemann, 3. Makana Pang, 4. Eli Hannemann, 5. Reef Tsutsui, 6. Noa Hill


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.