Dizon to get PT against Giants

Waimea High School and University of Colorado grad Jordon Dizon is slated to make his professional debut with the Detroit Lions today against the reigning Super Bowl champions — the New York Giants.

It is unknown at this time just how much playing time the rookies may get, but Head Coach Rod Marinelli said he wants to make sure they get good field time.

“We’re going to play them. We want to get them some good work tomorrow and be smart at the same time,” he said yesterday at a post-practice media session.

Dizon was a second-round draft pick for the Lions.

When asked if Dizon and his fellow rookies would get much time with the team’s first unit, Marinelli replied the first unit’s play would be limited.

Dizon will play middle linebacker.

He is also keeping a “rookie diary” for the team’s Web site. In it, he says of tonight’s game: “For me, the biggest thing is definitely going out there and having fun. When I think back retrospectively to some of the better practices I had, I’ve been having fun. I went out there and just tried to go out there and run around and that’s when I started making less mistakes and started to not think so much. So I think if I go to the game with that kind of mentality — just go out there and try to have fun — everything will work itself out.”

None of the preseason games will be broadcast on general cable. However, their first regular season game will be at 7 a.m. HST on Sunday, Sept. 7 against the Atlanta Falcons at the Georgia Dome and will be broadcast on Fox.

To read his blog, visit detroitlions.com


2008 Detroit Lions

Preseason

All times EST

Thursday, Aug. 7 New York Giants

7 p.m.

Sunday, Aug. 17 at Cincinnati Bengals 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, Aug. 23 Cleveland Browns 4 p.m.

Thursday, Aug. 28 at Buffalo Bills 6:30 p.m.

Regular season

Sunday, Sept. 7 at Atlanta Falcons

FOX 1 p.m.

Sunday, Sep. 14 Green Bay Packers FOX 1 p.m.

Sunday, Sept. 21 at San Francisco 49ers FOX 4:05 p.m.

Sunday, Sept. 28 *** Bye Week ***

Sunday, Oct. 5 Chicago Bears

FOX 1 p.m.

Sunday, Oct. 12 at Minnesota Vikings FOX 1 p.m.

Sunday, Oct. 19 at Houston Texans

FOX 4:05 p.m.

Sunday, Oct. 26 Washington Redskins FOX 1 p.m.

Sunday, Nov. 2 at Chicago Bears

FOX 1 p.m.

Sunday, Nov. 9 Jacksonville

CBS 1 p.m.

Sunday, Nov. 16 at Carolina Panthers

FOX 1 p.m.

Sunday, Nov. 23 Tampa Bay Buccaneers FOX 1 p.m.

Thursday, Nov. 27 Tennessee Titans

CBS 12:30 p.m.

Sunday, Dec. 7 Minnesota Vikings

FOX 1 p.m.

Sunday, Dec. 14 at Indianapolis Colts FOX 1 p.m.

Sunday, Dec. 21 New Orleans Saints FOX 1 p.m.

Sunday, Dec. 28 at Green Bay Packers FOX 1 p.m.

* Home games designated in bold.

0 Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.