Olukai team wants to stay ahead in Na Holo Kai

Marvin Otsuji and the Olukai crew lead the Hawaiian Sailing Canoe Association in overall points following the July 14 to 15 races.

Otsuji, who finished top in overall points in the HSCA 2007 racing calendar in the 6-man Open division, will be attempting to keep the crew’s lead when Olukai takes part in Na Holo Kai race Aug. 9.

The 21st annual Na Holo Kai race will take off from Haleiwa on O‘ahu’s North Shore, make its way across the Kaua‘i Channel before landing at Kalapaki Beach.

In an e-mail, Otsuji said the first canoes will probably be seen around 3:30 p.m., depending on the weather conditions.

The Olukai sailing team comes off its seventh win in eight races to lead the HSCA in overall points, the e-mail states.

On July 14, the team of Noe Auger, Darcy Wilcox, Katy Otsuji, Kelly Fey, Kahea Lum and Marvin Otsuji fell short to the Tui Tonga team in a heavily contested finish on the Moloka‘i-to-O‘ahu race.

But the Olukai team of Marvin Otsuji, Butch Keahiolalo, Leroy Jumper, Scott Wagner, Noe Auger and Jason Dameron rebounded with a win as the team cruised to a first finish on the Kualoa-to-Haleiwa leg of the race calendar.

Na Holo Kai extends that race from Haleiwa to Nawiliwili and the Kendall Pacific race, currently scheduled for Sept. 13, will complete the circuit as the teams race from Nawiliwili to Waimea, Kaua‘i.

The 2008 HSCA Race and Community Outreach is sponsored by the Hawai‘i Tourism Authority and the Ka‘anapali Beach Resort Association.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.