Patriots’ parade marches through Lihu‘e on Sunday

The Lihu‘e Patriots will be marching along just like Superbowl champions on Sunday.

The Kaua‘i Pop Warner Football League is giving the division II national championship Pee Wee team a homecoming parade, starting at Vidinha Stadium.

The champs will head up Rice Street at around 4 p.m. and end at the historic County Building, where a short program will commence.

The Patriots are the first-ever national championship Pop Warner squad from Hawai‘i.

For more information about the parade, contact Kaua‘i Pop Warner Football League president, Mel Rapozo at 645-0243.

The Lihu‘e Patriots Pee Wee national championship team includes Darren Acoba, Kekoa Agustin, Jonathan Butac, John Das, Bron Dela Cruz, Erin Doi, Dustin Ferreira-Kashima, Austin Furumoto, Micah Hanano, Shane Iwata, Wailea Kerr, Kalen Kimura, Travis Koga, Austin Oshiro, Rolland Peahu, Isaiah Prunty, Isaac Ramboyan, Kevin Reyes, Henry Rodriguez, Trey Smith, Shawn Taguas, Taren Tani, Luke Garcia, and Tyler Manibog.

The Patriots are coached by Mario Longboy (head coach), Brad Hiranaka, Craig Koga, Nardo Nacnac, and Layton Tani.

Equipment manager is Johnny Pongasi, football coordinator/team announcer is Ralph Suniga, business manager is Christie Kashima, team moms are Jolly Iwata and Lori Koga, mandatory recorders are Iwata and Alison Hiranaka, and association president is Gracie Grace.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.