Randy Lawrence wins dragster challenge

Randy Lawrence of Kapa’a, driving a 1970 Chevy Vega Wagon sponsored by Manny’s Repair, Gary Long’s Purple Haze Racing, and the Lawrence Ohana, blasted to the win in the rain delayed PRO ET National Dragster Challenge final at Kaua’i Raceway Park on Nov. 12.

Lawrence prevailed in a very close race with Chris Loew of Kilauea who got the hole shot with a .511 reaction on the launch (.500 is perfect). Loew, driving a 1969 Chevelle sponsored by Speedie-Lube, proceeded to run too quick and broke out with an ET of 11.086 on a 11.19 dial in.

Lawrence, always running consistently, ran a 10.06 on a 10.01 dial at 129 MPH.

Aside from collecting the coveted NHRA Wally Parks trophy, this race proved pivotal in the season ending point’s battle as well, putting Lawrence on top of the Destination Autoworks/ Rapid Repair Pro ET class after the conclusion of the event originally started in October.

A record crowd was on hand to watch the 2005 Fall Finals later that night under the stars at Mana, and they witnessed some of the best racing of the year to determine the season champions. The large crowd was only surpassed in size by this summer’s July 4th event.

In the PS&D Napa Jr. Dragster ET class, it was a best two out of three.

In Round 1, the winner by 20.9 feet was 7493 Sheldon Costa, driving a Jr. Dragster sponsored by D & W Services, RC Fabrications, leaving with a 0.74 light, runs a 8.835 on a 8.74 dial-in at 65.5 mph.

Runner-up was No. 357 Klifton Gomes, driving a Jr. Dragster sponsored by K & D Services, leaving with a 0.983 light, runs a 11.43 on a 11.36 dial-in at 51.84 mph.

In Round 2, clinching the event win and the season championship by 14.2 feet was Sheldon Costa, leaving with a 0.818 light, runs a 8.773 on a 8.74 dial-in at 65.5 mph, and runner-up Klifton Gomes leaving with a 0.937 light, runs a 11.422 on a 11.36 dial-in at 53.7 mph.

In the J.B. Repair Bike ET class, the winner was Jay-R Smith driving a Suzuki street bike Hayabusa 1300 cc leaving with a 0.816 light, runs a 10.156 on a 10 dial-in at blistering 139.32 mph.

Runner-up Mike Hawkes of Kilauea made another strong showing, riding a Harley Davidson V-Rod twin 1130cc. Leaving with a 0.597 light, runs a too quick 11.698 and breaks out on a 11.75 dial-in at 105.63 mph.

Matthew Kaleiohi of Kilauea had previously run up a large points lead and clinched the Bike championship by October.

In the Speedie Lube Street ET class, another extremely close race and the winner by 4.4 feet was Nestor Cabatan driving a 2000 Honda-Accord J30A1/HondaV6, leaving with a 0.517 light, runs a 16.591 on a 16.38 dial-in at 83.64 mph.

Runner-up Michelle Kooser, driving a Dodge truck sponsored by Destination Auto-works, leaving with a 0.62 light, runs a 15.844 on a 15.7 dial-in at 83.49 mph. With the win, Cabatan clinched the championship in a close points duel with Darren Sanekane.

The winner and season champion in the King Auto Center Super Street Et class was Walt Barnes. Driving a 1994 Ford Mustang GT 5.0 sponsored by Destination Autoworks and Real-Net Advertising, it was estimated that Barnes won by only 18 inches, leaving with a 0.664 light, and runs a 13.725 on a 13.65 dial-in at 99.78 mph.

Runner-up Brandon Fujishige, driving a 1992 Honda Civic 1.8L 98 ITR sponsored by Hashimoto Racing, leaving with a 0.533 light, runs a 12.016 on a 11.8 dial-in at 109.22 mph. With the win, Walt grabbed the point’s lead for a total of 640, over nearest competitor Robert Wheelock, who ended with 465.

In the Destination Auto-works & Rapid Repair Handyman Pro ET class, the closest points battle in recent memory played out to the very last race.

Chris Loew, determined after the narrow loss earlier in the day of the National Dragster Challenge, was not to be denied. Loew, driving the Speedie Lube/Pennzoil 1969 Chevelle, takes the win in the final, leaving with a 0.633 light, runs a 11.142 on a 10.99 dial-in at 119.68 mph.

Runner-up No. 1213 Jesse Kealoha, driving a 1966 Chevrolet Nova 350 sbc, sponsored by Kealoha Transfer Inc., Manny’s Repair, Darrell Moriguchi / Kaisen Jam, red lights giving Loew the automatic win. The win put Loew in a tie for fourth in the points with Junie Lawrence.

Rudy Ramos, who had a chance to win it all, was unable to compete due to a broken starter and ended up in third. David Onodera and Randy Lawrence ended the season tied for first place and will be crowned co-champions.

The Pro Quick 8 ET featured the last race of the night, and the last race of the season. The winner was No. 7769 Dan Nanbu, driving a 1968 Chevy Camaro 555cu. bbc. sponsored by Servco Automotive, Kauai Toyota, and Signart. Leaving with a 0.924 light, runs a 9.319 on a 8.95 dial-in at 132.74 mph.

Runner-up was No. 7322 Bill Turk of Kalihiwai, driving a 1972 Chevy Vega 400cu sb., sponsored by Rapid Repair Home Services, Manny’s Repair, and Turk Racing. Leaving with a 0.958 light runs a 9.776 after smoking the tires on the line on a 9.37 dial-in at 142.86 mph.

The Garden Isle Racing Association will host its annual awards banquet at the Aloha BeachResort on Saturday, Dec. 3.

The banquet is sold out.

The 2006 racing season will start March 4.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.