Campbell’s group scoops up top spot at pro-am

PO’IPU – With Tiger Woods and Phil Mickelson out of the pro-am on Monday, a group led by Michael Campbell took the top prize in the 23rd Grand Slam of Golf pro-am.

Campbell, along with Brent Krantz, Jack Kodesh, Jason Haruki, Paul Heathwood, Neal Gluckman, and Andrew Feldman shot a 120.6. Campbell’s 69 led the way.

But although Woods skipped the event due to a stomach virus, the individuals who were supposed to play with the world’s best golfer, received a signed PGA Grand Slam flag, as a nice gesture.

Kaua’i junior golfer Miki Ueoka came away with numerous prizes, which included a second-place trophy and a gift for the longest drive.

The Kaua’i High School junior, who was last year’s Kaua’i Junior Golf player of the year, took Mayor Bryan J. Baptiste’s spot.

Jeff Gregor, Derek Schiller, Bill Kratzert, Ueoka, Melvin Nakamura, Michael Castillo, and Vijay Singh took second (121.9).

Joe Sternaka, David Levy, Mike Douglis, Rich Russey, John Kawaja, Kevin Carll, and Campbell fielded the third best score (122.3).

TNT’s Roger Warren, Toshiyuki Matsumoto, John Schuerholtz, Mark Lazarus, Steve Mosko, Larry Stubble-field, and Campbell finished fourth (124.3).

Tom Reynolds, Bob Steele, Randy Lawson, Ryosuke Homma, Riley Mende, Brendan Moynahan, and Campbell tagged the fifth spot (124.7).

Brian Whitcomb, Jaime Diaz, Sam Choy, Mike Ferris, Brian Fortini, Ron Castillo Sr., and Campbell got the sixth-place prize (124).

Lane Uchimura, Warren Haruki, Reiko Tanaka, Roy Yamaguchi, Jamie Peterson, Casey Paulson, and Singh carded the seventh best score (126.7).

Greg Hughes, Shigetoshi Kobayashi, Jimmy Dominguez, Shosuke Machida, Pin Huang Chang, Wade Nishimoto, and Singh finished in eighth (127.6).

Jim Remy, Doug Meine, Russell Siu, David Biscan, Pedro de Montaner, Matt Halt, and Singh placed ninth (127.9).

Drew Reifenberger, Paul Minor, Denny Lindquist, Gary Levzow, Joel Eisemann, Ron Castillo Jr., and Singh took tenth (128).

Paul Bogin, Joe Juliano, Michael Garcia, Doug Sears, Jim Huber, Rick Castillo, and Campbell grabbed 11th-place (128.3).

Mark Marshall, Mike Belcher, Alton Kuioka, Antonio Abdalla, Bob Rosen, Jason Bangild, and Singh rounded out the field in the 12th position (128.9).


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.