Kane cruises in first match

O’AHU — Kaua’i’s No. 1 boys singles player Eddie Kane earned an easy win over Seabury High’s Kyle Niehaus in the second round of the 2003 Carlsmith Ball/HHSAA State Tennis Championships at the Central O’ahu Regional Park Tennis Complex on Thursday.

Kane, the No. 9 seed in the boys singles draw, cruised to a 6-1, 6-0 win and will face No. 5 Guillermo Lopez de Maturana (Academy of the Pacific) today.

Kaua’i’s Jordan Kukino blistered his first-round opponent James Cantere of Kailua High School 6-1, 6-3 in a boys singles opening round match before falling to No. 10 seed Holden Ching of Hawaii Prep 6-3, 6-4.

Kapa’a’s Andrew Walpole was beaten in his opening match 6-3, 6-1 by Grant Doyle of St. Anthony. The Warriors Justin Nagai lost 6-0, 6-1 to No. 2 Derrick Lajola of Iolani.

In girls first-round singles action, Island School’s Jeni Guerber lost her second-round match to Jessica Konrad of Seabury 6-1, 6-0. Also in the second round, Island School’s Tiana Kamen fell in a close match 3-6, 6-0, 6-1 to Hilo’s Shannon Sakata.

In other opening-round girls singles action, Waimea’s Sonya Tacub and Mitzi Seto were defeated by Hawaii Prep’s Megan Pautler and Crystal Shimabukuro of Punahou by the scores of 6-0, 6-0.

In boys doubles action, Kaua’i’s top duo and the No. 11 seeded squad of Chris Colacino and Chad Naganuma bested Kapa’a’s Waylen Sadang and Martin Antonio 6-1, 6-0 in the second round.

Stephen McClaran and Michael Hirahara of Kaua’i defeated Samson Abad and Kerry Phomtavong of Waianae 6-0, 6-4 before falling 6-0, 6-1 to Jeremy Okuda and Aaron Tada of Hilo in round two.

Kaua’i’s Ronald and Bryce Hosaka earned a default win in the second round and will play today against the No. 3 seeded team of Marcus Kutara and Reyn Makishi of St. Louis.

In girls first-round doubles action, Kapa’a’s squad of Ashley Valvieja and Jackie Filippe dropped a 6-1, 6-1 decision to Lauren Hashimoto and Shawn Yamada of Roosevelt.

Waimea’s Sara Nonaka and Jenny Morita fell 6-0, 6-1 to Asami Nagata and Jaime Yoshino of Kaiser.

Kaua’i’s Hokulani Jordan and Jennifer Kawaguchi lost 6-1, 6-2 in the second round.

The Warriors Raysha Sadang and Tasha Haraguchi dropped a 6-3, 6-0 decision in round two.

Today’s action begins at 8:30 a.m. and will feature third round and quarterfinal matches. Third-place, semifinal and championship matches will take place on Saturday beginning at 8:30 a.m.

An awards ceremony will follow the final match on the show court.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.