New Planning Commissioners

NEW COMMISSIONERS – Kaua’i county clerk Peter Nakamura administered the oath of office to new Planning Department comissioners Larry Chaffin and Theodore Daligdig III as Mayor Bryan Baptiste looked on prior to the Board’s Tuesday afternoon meeting. The new comissioners brings the total number of representatives to six with one vacancy remaining. Daligdig is Kaua’i commander of the Hawai’i Army National Guard and the Guard’s liaison officer to the Kaua’i Civil Defense Agency. He fills the vacant ‘labor’ slot on the commission. Chaffin is a private architect/planner who was formerly licensed in seven states and is now licensed in Hawai’i and California. He fills the “at large” slot recently vacated by Jay Furfaro, newly elected member of the Kaua’i County Council. The seven-member planning commission must now fill the remaining vacancy left by Gary Heu, Baptiste’s newly-appointed administrative assistant to Mayor Bryan Baptiste.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.