Breaking News

Breaking News

La‘akea Gonsalves Hall of Honor inductee

  • Dennis Fujimoto/The Garden Island

    Kapas’s La‘a Gonsalves is pressured by Kauai’s Jordan Andres in the second half, Monday during the Kauai Interscholastic Federation boys soccer match at Vidinha Stadium.

HONOLULU — Kapa‘a High School senior La‘akea Gonsalves is one of 12 inductees to the 2020 Hall of Honor Class announced the Hawai‘i High School Athletic Association, Monday in a quiet release.

Traditionally accompanied by a lavish induction banquet, this year’s announcement was just that — an announcement made amidst safety and health rules, regulations, and mandates created by the COVID-19 pandemic that closed schools across the state, and the eventual cancellation of the Spring Season inter-scholastic sports competition.

Instead, Gonsalves, a Kaua‘i Interscholastic Federation and HHSAA standout in the fields of soccer, football, and volleyball will by simply awarded a $2,000 scholarship courtesy of the HHSAA and Enterprise Holdings that owns and operates the Enterprise Rent-A-Car, National Car Rental, and Alamo Rent-A-Car brands.

Gonsalves was selected by a 13-person committee of current and former sports reporters, athletic directors, and coaches from around the state based on criteria that is mainly based on athletic achievement. Individual characteristics including character, sportsmanship, academic records, and community service are also taken into consideration during the review process following the applicant’s nomination.

Joining Gonsalves in the 2020 Hall of Honor are Nanea Estrella of Lahainaluna High School, Alfred Failauga of Waipahi High School, Chenoa Frederick of Kamehameha-Hawai‘i, Christina Hicks of Punahou School, Caiyle Kaupu of Konawaena High School, Legend Matautia of Punahou School, Elena Oglivie of ‘Iolani High School, Kysen Terukina of Kamehameha-Kapalama, Joshua Tihada of Lahainaluna High School, Christmas Togiai of Kamehameha-Kapalama, and Roman Wilson of St. Louis High School.

The Hall of Honor scholarship program has been recognizing the top 12 Hawai‘i senior student-athletes each year since 1983.


Dennis Fujimoto, staff writer and photographer, can be reached at 245-0453 or


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.