Hawaiian Pro likely to get green light Monday to begin Triple Crown

  • Heff / WSL

    California’s Griffin Colapinto won the 2017 Triple Crown of Surfing and began that run with a runner-up finish at the Hawaiian Pro. The 2018 Triple Crown gets underway Monday at Haleiwa where 128 competitors will hope to duplicate that result.

It all gets underway on Monday as the 2018 Triple Crown of Surfing opens at Haleiwa with the Hawaiian Pro. It’s the first opportunity for anyone to begin their quest for points in the winter’s most prestigious and anticipated series. Past winners have run the gamut from renowned superstars like Kelly Slater and Gabriel Medina, local legends like Sunny Garcia, Andy Irons and Derek Ho, or breakout stars like Kauai’s Sebastian Zietz in 2012 or defending champ Griffin Colapinto.