Pop Warner Jamboree on Saturday

HANAPEPE — The Kauai Pop Warner Football League will host opening ceremonies at 8 a.m. Saturday at Hanapepe Stadium.

This marks the start of the 56th year for Kauai Pop Warner football, and the first games of the Pop Warner Jamboree celebration will start at 9 a.m.

Teddy Arroyo, KPWFL president, said there are five associations participating in the league: Kapaa, Lihue, Koloa, Hanapepe and Kekaha.

“Leaders of the Kauai Pop Warner Football League have been proud to have provided football, cheer, and scholastic achievements for all of our kids,” Arroyo said.

During the opening ceremonies, Arroyo said the 2017 scholastic winners will be recognized. They will be joined by the 2018 Wescon region Female Volunteer of the year — Lani Cummings from the Kapaa Eagles Pop Warner Association — and the 2017 national Junior Varsity cheerleading champions, the Kekaha Titans.


Dennis Fujimoto, staff writer and photographer, can be reached at 245-0453 or dfujimoto@thegardenisland.com.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.