Kapaa’s Jiminez, Island’s Price win HMSA scholarships

HONOLULU — School principals, athletic directors, students and family members came from across the state to the Hawaii Convention Center on Saturday to honor Hawaii’s top high schools and the finest scholar athletes at the 2017 HMSA Kaimana Awards and Scholarship Program luncheon.

HMSA and the Hawaii High School Athletic Association (HHSAA) began the program in August 2005 to recognize all-around accomplishments by high schools and reward individual students with scholarships.

In Saturday’s awards ceremony, 15 students received scholarships worth $5,000. Among the 15 students are Kapaa High School graduate Vanessa Hernandez Jimenez and Island School graduate Carolyn Price.

Nine high schools were recognized for achieving the highest program scores in their league (classified by enrollment) in academics, athletics, community service, healthy activities and sportsmanship.

The nine highest-scoring schools received a check for $1,500. Kapaa High School was one of the nine schools acknowledged.

Winning schools

Big Island Interscholastic Federation

Small School (fewer than 200 students): Parker School

Large School: (200 students or more): Keaau High School

Interscholastic League of Honolulu

Small School (fewer than 400 students): Le Jardin Academy

Large School: (400 students or more): Hawaii Baptist Academy

Kauai Interscholastic Federation

Kapaa High School

Maui Interscholastic League

Small School (fewer than 350 students): Lanai High School

Large School: (350 students or more): Kamehameha Schools-Maui

Oahu Interscholastic Association

Small School (fewer than 1,300 students): Kalaheo High School

Large School (1,300 students or more): Waipahu High School

Scholarship winners

Big Island Interscholastic Federation

Ruby Galapon, Keaau High School

Sabrina Marvin, Hawaii Preparatory Academy

Interscholastic League of Honolulu

Devin Eng, Mid-Pacific Institute

Charles Fox, University Laboratory School

Kiarah Gomard, Sacred Hearts Academy

Kacey Wong, Sacred Hearts Academy

Kauai Interscholastic Federation

Vanessa Hernandez Jimenez, Kapaa High School

Carolyn Price, Island School

Maui Interscholastic League

Alexa Narayan, Maui Preparatory Academy

Dorian Raboy-McGowan, Kamehameha Schools-Maui

Oahu Interscholastic Association

Michele Fujita, Pearl City High School

Joey Pantil, Nanakuli High and Intermediate School

Elray Santiago Jr., Campbell High School

Kanani Uluave, Kahuku High and Intermediate School

Ryan Watanabe, Pearl City High School


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.