Weather postpones Hawaii baseball’s Big West opener

SAN LUIS OBISPO, Calif. — The University of Hawaii’s Big West-opening game against Cal Poly that was scheduled Friday was postponed due to heavy rains in the area.

The Rainbow Warriors (18-9, 0-0 BWC) and Mustangs (10-17, 2-1 BWC) were scheduled to play at 3:00 p.m. HT (6:00 p.m. PT) at Baggett Field on Cal Poly’s campus, but showers began early and show no signs of letting up.

The teams will now play a doubleheader today at Baggett Stadium – both games will be nine innings. The doubleheader is slated to begin at 11:00 a.m. HT (2:00 p.m. PT). Sunday’s finale remains at the originally scheduled time of 10:00 a.m. HT (1:00 p.m. PT).

The Rainbow Warriors will be playing their first doubleheader of the season. It will be the third for the Mustangs.

17 from Hawaii swim & dive team receive all-academic honors

WOODLAND, Calif. – Seventeen University of Hawaii swimming and diving student-athletes earned Mountain Pacific Sports Federation all-academic selections, as MPSF executive director Al Beaird announced the honorees on Friday.

To earn the recognition, student-athletes must have a 3.00 or better grade point average, be at least a sophomore academically, have competed one full academic year at the institution prior to the season for which the honor is being received, and have competed in at least 50 percent of the team’s competitions.

Twelve Rainbow Wahine were honored: Haley Chasin, Silvija Djelic, Monica Gavaris, Jane Ip, Tahna Lindquist, Kira Makuta, Cherelle Oestringer, Katie Seaton, Alexandria Swanson, Madi Uekawa, Kira Webster, and Franziska Weidner.

Five Rainbow Warriors earned the honor:Jason Alentado, Rafael Felix, Jonas Gutzat, Adam Kealiher, and Evan Rabanal.

0 Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.