KIUC board of directors nominees named

LIHUE — The Kauai Island Utility Cooperative Nominating Committee has confirmed seven candidates for its board of directors election on March 18.

Juno Ann Apalla, Dee M. Crowell, Norma Doctor Sparks, KipuKai L.P. Kuali‘i, Jim Mayfield, Hermina “Mina” Morita and Allan A. Smith are gunning for three director seats.

A director is one of nine elected representatives that sets the strategic direction and policies of the cooperative.

“Being able to participate in our election process is one of the most important benefits our members receive,” said KIUC Board Chairman Jan TenBruggencate.

He said the elected representatives are accountable to the coop’s members.

“Exercising your right to vote is critical to insuring that the membership’s voice is heard,” he said. “When your ballot comes in the mail, please consider your choices and vote.”

Members should look for their election packets the last week of February in the mail.

Members may vote by paper ballot, phone or online.

Election information may be found at


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.