New chamber board closes the year

NAWILIWILI — Lisa Murphy Allison delivered her final words of inspiration to the Kauai Chamber of Commerce last week, alluding to a song she heard while driving home from work.

“I’m leaving the island soon,” Murphy Allison said. “It’s not that I want to go. I’m going to miss this place and all the people. Hopefully, I’ll be back.”

Murphy Allison was the board chair-elect, and her leaving the island returned the responsibility to Chris Gampon for another year, at Thursday’s chamber general membership meeting and 28th annual silent auction at the Kauai Marriott Resort and Beach Club.

“We have Judge Trudy Senda swearing in the 2017 board for her final time,” Gampon said. “She is retiring at the end of December.”

The new board, with Gampon as its chair, is made up of Joyce Vidinha of First Hawaiian Bank, Michelle Emura of Aqua Engineers, Stephanie Iona of Dow Agrosciences, Jen Chahanovich of Wilcox Health, Fred Cowell of Kauai Coffee Company, Rory Enright of Princeville at Hanalei Community Association, Bob Gunter of the Koloa Rum Company, Ann Hashisaka of Kauai Kookie, Reiko Matsuyama of Grove Farm Company, J Robertson of Ho‘ike Kauai Community Television, Wade Lord of the Kukui Grove Center, Tyler Rodighiero of PacBuild, and Beth Tokioka of the Kauai Island Utility Cooperative.

Outgoing directors include Cheryl Stiglmeier, Brett Schumach, Vianne Tabata, Tassie Agena, Jaye Gayagas Youn, Helen Cox and Murphy Allison.

More than 400 people attended the event.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.