Almost 30 Kauai residents file

Almost 30 Kauai residents filed nomination papers to announce their candidacy for office, according to the County of Kauai Elections Division.

Deadline to file was Tuesday.

The people running for office are:

State Senate, District 8: Heather Ahuna, Democrat; Ronald Kouchi, Democrat.

State Representative, District 14: Sandra Combs, Republican; Nadine Nakamura, Democrat; Fern Rosenstiel, Democrat

State Representative, District 15: Thomas Oi, Democrat; James Tokioka, Democrat

State Representative, District 16: Victoria Franks, Republican; Dee Morikawa, Democrat

Office of Hawaiian Affairs: Daniel Ahuna, incumbent

Office of the Prosecuting Attorney: Lisa Arin; Justin Kollar

Kauai County Council: Juno-Ann Apalla, Matthew Bernabe, Arthur Brun, Mason Chock, Norma Doctor Sparks, Richard Fukushima , Gary Hooser, Ross Kagawa, Arryl Kaneshiro, Derek Kawakami, Kipukai Kuali’i, Mel Rapozo, JoAnn Yukimura.

Kauai residents have until July 14 to register for the primary election. The last day to submit an absentee ballot for the primary election is Aug. 6. The primary election will take place on Aug. 13.

Registration applications:


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.