Fitzgeralds, Evans get top seeds at state qualifying

LIHUE — Kauai’s No. 1 boys singles player Mitchell Evans is excited that the Carlsmith Ball Hawaii High School Athletic Association 2016 tennis championships will be contested at the Orchid Mauna Lani & Racquet Club at Mauna Lani on May 5-7.

“This is a beautiful place,” Evans said to Kauai coach Charles Fulks earlier this week while signing his Letter of Intent to play tennis at Washington College in Maryland. “This is where the 2016 Fed Cup by BNP Paribas World Group II was played (earlier in February). It is a really nice venue.”

Evans earned the top seed for the boys singles in the Kauai Interscholastic Federation state qualifying matches which opened Thursday and will wrap up Friday at the Kauai Community College tennis courts.

Waimea top boys singles player Marcus Pereira gets the No. 2 seed, Island School’s Kahea Kamalani earns the third seed, and Kauai’s Akira Takabayashi, the Raiders’ No. 2 player, earns the fourth seed for the boys singles field which opened play at the Hokuala Tennis Club.

The seedings were delayed by a day due to weather playing havoc with the final matches Saturday and being forced to finish as late as Monday afternoon in better weather. The meeting was moved to Tuesday night to accomodate the late finishes.

J. Zietz and Shawn Yamane of Kapaa earn top seed in the boys doubles followed by Eli Leech and Mike Wolan of Island School as the No. 2 seed. Holden Hallada and T. Carbonel of Kauai gets the No. 3 seed with Waimea’s J. Subiate and L.Medina getting the No. 4 seed.

Girls opened play at the Kauai Community College with the Island School Fitzgerald duo of Michaela and Mia getting the No. 1 and 2 seeds, respectively. Waimea’s Julia Hirano is the No. 3 seed and Menehune Rochelle DelaCruz is the No. 4 seed.

Kapaa’s Isabella Kotsol is teamed with Deidre Andaya as the No. 1 seed in girls doubles followed by Waimea’s Kari Correa teaming with Karla Bermudez as the No. 2 seed. Kauai’s Kaylin Kukino partners with Hoku Iseri as the No. 3 seed and Island School’s Ajia Schlafani and Risa Whetsel earns the No. 4 seed.

Finals for boys and girls start at 8 a.m. at the Kauai Community College tennis courts.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.