Kapaa’s Napoleon, Tatofi given POY honors

LIHUE — This year’s Kauai Interscholastic Federation football all stars have been selected.

For the second consecutive year, players from Kapaa High School make up the majority of the all star roster, which is voted on by the coaches. Of the 29 slots on the list, 25 are filled by Warriors.

“It just shows how hard we play,” said Kapaa head coach Philip Rapozo. “I guess we were dominant in the season, so that’s why we got so many all stars. It’s just wonderful for the kids. It’s more than just an individual award. It’s a team award also. I’m very happy for our players.”

In addition, both offensive and defensive players of the year come from Kapaa for the second consecutive year.

Junior quarterback Kurt Napoleon was named KIF Offensive Player of the Year. He was not available for comment Saturday.

“I think he had an awesome year. We won’t let (losing the Division II championship game) ruin that for Kurt or the team,” Rapozo said about his quarterback. “During the KIF season, he did a great job and it was well-deserved. I look forward to seeing what he’s got for the future.”

Senior defensive lineman Ola Tatofi was named KIF Defensive Player of the Year.

“I feel blessed. I feel like I could have done better,” Tatofi said about the accolade. “Giving me the Defensive Player of the Year, I feel lucky.”

Rapozo added Tatofi came on strong toward the end of the season and that’s what set him apart from the others.

“I think Ola, at the end, separated himself with his play on the field. In the games and even at practice, I could see the difference with Ola. He was taking it to another level — all day at practice, it was like a game. That’s how he got the votes. He just dominated the games at the end of the season.”



Morris Unutoa, Kapaa, junior

Llewllyn Woodward, Kapaa, junior

Brandon Quilos, Kapaa, senior

Mikela Matayoshi, Kapaa, junior

Kelepi Loketi, Kapaa, senior


Leslee Aki, Kapaa, senior

Justin DeForge, Kapaa, senior

Leighton Moniz, Kapaa, junior

Gabe Keener, Kapaa, junior

Running back

Kekoa Kaluahine-Cacal, Kapaa, senior


Kurt Napoleon, Kapaa, junior


Clifton Oliver, Kapaa, junior

Special team

Jaykob Nakaahiki-Young, Kauai, sophomore


Damien Butac, Kauai, senior



Ola Tatofi, Kapaa, senior

Kapena Texeira, Kapaa, junior

Trestin Alfiler, Kapaa, senior

Bulla Rapacon, Kauai, senior


Mana Kupihea, Kapaa, junior

Mosese Fifita, Kapaa, senior

Jayson Hawthorne, Kapaa, junior

Defensive backs

Dave Joel, Kapaa, senior

Bryce Dato, Kapaa, senior

Damien Butac, Kauai, senior

Dillon Apilado, Kapaa, junior


Cody Taniguchi, Waimea, junior


Liki Koli, Kapaa, senior

Offensive Player of the Year

Kurt Napoleon, Kapaa, junior

Defensive Player of the Year

Ola Tatofi, Kapaa, senior

Coach of the Year

Philip Rapozo, Kapaa


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.