Menehune athletes recognized

Waimea High School senior Melia Takakusagi is the sole female selected in the state of Hawaii to receive the Hawaii Interscholastic Athletic Directors Association and the Hawaii Union Builders, and the NIAAA Section 7 National Scholarship Essay award.

The announcement by the Waimea High School Athletic Department was made during the school’s senior assembly.

“This year, the Waimea High School Athletic Department would like to recognize its student-athletes for their commitment, dedication, perseverance, hard work, along with honor and pride to their respective sports, coaches, teammates, family and community during their four years here at Waimea,” said Jon Kobayashi, Waimea athletic director.

Leading the awardees, Takakusagi was recognized as for her essay award as well as being named the Outstanding Female Scholar-Athlete.

Outstanding Male Scholar-Athlete was presented to Shandon San Agustine-Nordmeier. Patrick Keamoai-Strickland and Caitlyn Owen got the nods for Outstanding Male and Female Athletes respectively.

Theron Shigematsu earned honors as the Army Male Scholar Athlete with Kayla Ishida being named the Army Female Scholar-Athlete.

Shigematsu and Owen were both named recipients of the Richard M. Doi $500 scholarships, Shigematsu representing the males and Owen the females.

Henry Delos Reyes was named the Male recipient of the Bunji Shimomura $500 scholarship while Tyrelle Unciano was the Female recipient.

Both the Doi and Shimomura scholarship recipients are selected by the Menehune Booster Club officers.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.