Murphy, Sugahara claim Haena to Hanalei run

HANALEI — Former Island School standout and current Colorado Buffalo Pierce Murphy claimed the Men’s division of the 8-mile Haena to Hanalei Run on June 2.

Murphy claimed the crown for the second year in a row, crossing the finish line in a time of 42:44.

Kapa‘a’s Brooke Sugahara clinched the women’s title with a time of 54:37.

Other winners included Mark Goodman in the male walking category with Yvette Lavinge snagging the women’s title.

Ryan Kruger of Iowa City won the Men’s 5K while Amanda Johnson won the women’s category.

Princeville’s Sunny Patey won the one-mile youth run. Lucas Anakalea of Hanalei was the first male finisher in the one-mile youth run.

Overall, 661 racers participated in the race, up 100 from last year’s event.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.