Lay day called for Billabong Pro Tahiti

TEAHUPO’O, Taiarapu/French Polynesia – The surf has dropped slightly into the three-to-four foot (1 – 1.5 metre) range and event organizers have called a lay day for the Billabong Pro Tahiti presented by Air Tahiti Nui.

Event No. 5 of 11 on the 2011 ASP World Title season, the Billabong Pro Tahiti experienced a sterling start to the event last Saturday, and despite substantial swell on offer each day for the venue, the promise of solid 10’ – 12’ (3 – 4 metre) surf in the coming days has prompted the world’s best surfers to wait for incredible conditions.

“The surf has dropped slightly from Sunday and Monday so we’ve called a lay day today,” Pritamo Ahrendt, ASP International Head Judge, said. “We’re still tracking a significant swell period on the charts that could arrive as early as tomorrow afternoon, but likely Thursday. We’ll see what comes in the morning.”

Event organizers will reconvene this  morning at 6:30 to assess conditions for a possible 7:30 a.m. start.

When competition resumes, up first will be Jeremy Flores (FRA), 23, and Heiarii Williams (PYF), 23, in the opening heat of Round 2.

Highlights from the Billabong Pro Tahiti presented by Air Tahiti Nui will be available via

Surfline, official forecasters for the Billabong Pro Tahiti, are calling a medium size south swell to be easing Wednesday. A major south-southwest will build throughout the day on Thursday and continue Friday, with an even stronger south-southwest swell looking likely for the weekend. Wind will be very light though Tuesday, with building and breezy easterly trades for the end of the week.

For more information, log onto

Round 2 Match-Ups:

Heat 1: Jeremy Flores (FRA) vs. Heiarii Williams (PYF)

Heat 2: Taj Burrow (AUS) vs. Ricardo dos Santos (BRA)

Heat 3: Adrian Buchan (AUS) vs. Gabe Kling (USA)

Heat 4: Owen Wright (AUS) vs. Adam Melling (AUS)

Heat 5: Joel Parkinson (AUS) vs. Brett Simpson (USA)

Heat 6: Bede Durbidge (AUS) vs. Josh Kerr (AUS)

Heat 7: Michel Bourez (PYF) vs. Daniel Ross (AUS)

Heat 8: Adriano de Souza (BRA) vs. Raoni Monteiro (BRA)

Heat 9: Kieren Perrow (AUS) vs. Tiago Pires (PRT)

Heat 10: Patrick Gudauskas (USA) vs. Jadson Andre (BRA)

Heat 11: Alejo Muniz (BRA) vs. Matt Wilkinson (AUS)

Heat 12: Heitor Alves (BRA) vs. Chris Davidson (AUS)


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.