Ethan Shell Memorial Scholarship recipients named

Hawai‘i Children’s Theatre announces the recipients of this year’s Ethan Shell Memorial Scholarship for performing arts higher education, according to a press release. Kaua‘i college freshmen or sophomores pursuing a major or minor in any area of the performing arts are eligible apply for the scholarship.

This year’s recipients are Elaine Guest, Heidi Murakami and Danielle Enright. Guest is a 2010 Kaua‘i High School graduate who will be in her second year at the American Musical and Dramatic Arts in Los Angeles, Calif. She is studying acting and musical theater.

Murakami, a graduate this year from Kapa‘a High School, will be heading to the University of Hawai‘i, Manoa where she will major in chemistry and minor in music. Murakami plays the trombone and piano as well as several other instruments.

Enright graduated this year from Island School and she will be going to Santa Barbara City College where she will explore her interest in the social sciences and minor in dance.

Applications can be found on the HCT website at and are due by April 1 each year.

For more information on the Ethan Shell Memorial Scholarship or any of their other programs, please visit its website or call 246-8985.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.