Takitani Foundation awards scholarships

The Mamoru and Aiko Takitani Foundation, Inc. named Lyle John Nemeth, Kaua‘i High School class of 2011, as one of its 10 district scholarship winners, according to a press release.

Three seniors from other Kaua‘i District schools also received $1,000 scholarships.

Nemeth received a $3,000 scholarship. He was the president of the National Honor Society, a member of the Key Club, a participant in the Boy Scouts of America and church youth group activities, captain of Kaua‘i High School’s tennis team and a member of the soccer team.

 He also was on the Principal’s list for all of his high school years.

Canaan Higa of Island School, Taylor Langstaff of Kapa‘a High School and Clianne Mancia of Waimea High School were awarded $1,000 scholarships.

Higa, Langstaff and Mancia were among 65 recipients who received scholarships based on academic achievement, community service and financial need, according to the press release.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.