Kaua‘i Humane Society art contest winners named

KIPU — Kapa‘a Elementary School had the lion’s share of winners when the winners of the Kaua‘i Humane Society’s art contest were announced, recently.

Kapa‘a Elementary School picked up 10 winners from a field of more than 500 entries submitted from students around the island.

Ori Skomoroch, acting director for the Kaua‘i Humane Society, said the winners’ art will be gracing note cards the humane society uses to correspond and communicate with its network of volunteers, vendors, and other people.

Each of the winning student’s family will receive a pack of note cards featuring the student’s art as well as a book and a certificate for their efforts.

Previously, student art contest winners graced pages of a calendar produced by the humane society, but presently, the artwork is now transferred to note cards and results in more winners being selected.

Kaua‘i Area Complex Superintendent William Arakaki was invited to congratulate the winners along with Mele Brewer, the humane society’s educational coordinator.

Brewer said this year’s theme was Malama Animals and the humane society wanted a wide range of animals, extending beyond the normal cats and dogs.

Her request was answered as among the winners were Newell Shearwater birds, and other more exotic animals and pets, Skomoroch noting the selection of winners was a difficult task for the judges due to the bright colors which reflect the child’s passion for animals.

Kapa‘a Elementary School winners included Artha Matsushima, Halia Brandenburg, Paris Tangelder, Kasiah Vercelli, Talia Suzuki, Nainoa Cardinez, Sophia Rodriguez, Carlos y Giov-Tapia, Janice Manique and Mark Corpuz.

Sydney Brady, a sixth grader from Chiefess Kamakahelei Middle School was the sole representative of that school and was joined by ema-Lani Ebesu, a first grader from Island School and Emmaline Wease, a fourth grader from Hanalei School.

Kylan Constantino, Tanner Ishikuni, and Kaili Aquino represented ‘Ele‘ele School. Dane Isaken, Nate Smith and Kamryn Curammeng were named from Kalaheo School.

Kimberly Corpuz was the sole Kapa‘a High School representative, joining Kalani Peipher, a fourth grader from Ke Kula Ni‘ihau O Kekaha.

Jalyah Casem, Angelina Terrazas, Kaehukai Keala, Lexi Saunders and NoA Harrison were named from Kilauea School.

Jaren Lee Planas, Tim Blum, Shane Shibuya, Tynise Dailey, Ashley Crawford and Tessa Jensen were named from the King Kaumuali‘i Elementary School.

Aubrey Gordon and Aukai Kaupu-Kaneholani represented Koloa School with Andrew Evans and Bailey Taeza being named from St. Theresa School in Kekaha.

Clarissa Jadao, Leah Carr, Alysson Buller, Breean Cayaban and Keane Caberto were the Waimea Canyon Middle School winners and Elsa Rothstein, a kindergartener at the Elsie Wilcox Elementary School rounded out the field.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.