State tennis begins this morning on Maui

LIHU‘E — The first two rounds of the Carlsmith Ball 2011 Hawai‘i High School Athletic Association Tennis Championships get underway this morning and Kapa‘a High School’s Chas Okamoto will start his run at a potential title at 8 a.m.

The state’s No. 1 seed in the Boys Singles tournament will face Daniel Tada in the first round at the Royal Lahaina Tennis Complex on Maui.

Coming off his Kaua‘i Interscholastic Federation championship, Okamoto enters the 32-player field with hopes for a deep run and to still be playing Saturday, when the three-day tournament concludes with the championship and third-place matches.

But first things first, as Hilo’s Tada is the opening opponent. The winner will move on to face either Waiakea’s Isaiah Brilhante or Pearl City’s Tyler Mikami in the second round. That second-round match will take place today at noon.

Island School’s Sam Dunham, the second-place finisher in the KIF sits on the other side of the draw from Okamoto and will take on Mililani’s Jireh Lin at 10:30 a.m.

The winner of that match will then play again at 1:30 p.m. against either No. 5 seed James Rivers of Pacific Buddhist Academy or Maui’s Mike Jamarillo.

In the Girls Singles bracket, Kaua‘i High School’s Sarah Kukino is the No. 3 seed and will take on Kaiser’s Tasha Shaik at 8 a.m. That winner will advance to the second round to face either Seabury Hall’s Tara Mcbarnet or the other KIF competitor, Waimea’s Lani Rae Green at noon.

That second-round match will be played at 12:30 p.m. at the Lahaina Civic Center, while most of the other Girls Singles matches will be played at the Royal Lahaina Tennis Complex.

In Boys Doubles, the Kaua‘i High School duo of Matthew Kanna and Jerik Centeno will take on Kaiser’s Bailey Tacub and Eric Wolfe at 9 a.m. Whoever comes out victorious in that match will face the winner of the No. 4-seed, Punahou’s Travis Yoshimoto and William Chen, and Pearl City’s Kevin Maruyama and Ryan Takamori at 12:30 p.m.

The Red Raider team of BJ Kai and Otis Llewellyn will take on Kamehameha-Big Island’s Shaun Kagawa and Keoni Wong at 9 a.m. The winner will move to the second round at 1 p.m. to play the winners between No. 6 seed Cody Lau and Ty Tanaka from Kalani, or Kealakehe’s Chris Lysiuk and Shoyo Tsukumoto.

The first two round of the Girls Doubles tournament will take place exclusively at the Civic Center.

Kaua‘i High School’s Shay Orial and Jennifer Grady will face Lahainaluna’s Melissa Taketa and Tauley Montez at 8 a.m. The winner moves on to face either No. 6 seed Andrea Baysa and Brooke Alcuran of ‘Iolani, or Kealakehe’s Tiera Makaiwi and Michelle Reed noon.

The Island School Voyager team of Madison Duarte and Meghan Perius will face Pearl City’s Jem Gasmen and Christina Agena at 9:30 a.m. That winner will take on either No. 7 seed Michele Saiki and Kelly Hamamura of Baldwin, or Alison Goo and Kara Okazaki of ‘Iolani at 1 p.m.

All four tournaments will run for three days and crown their champions Saturday morning with 8:30 a.m. matches.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.