Waimea runs to KIF cross country titles

PUHI — Waimea High School’s girls and boys cross country teams held off strong challenges to sweep the Kaua‘i Interscholastic Federation championships Saturday.

In the girls’ race, Waimea’s Caralyn Broyles and Natasha Abadilla set the pace and led the girls to a 2-point edge over a strong Kapa‘a girls showing.

Waimea girls finished with 29 points over Kapa‘a girls’ 31 points. Kaua‘i girls rounded out that race with 67 points.

In the boys’ race, Alex Lamadrid and Brycen Phillips waged a war at the finish line, but Waimea boys captured the title with 30 points followed by Kaua‘i boys at 45 points. Kapa‘a finished with 64 points followed by Island School at 97 points.

Broyles jumped out to an early lead and held it throughout the race, pumping to a comfortable lead despite the agony that showed on her face.

She crossed the line at 21:51.00 followed by Abadilla almost a minute back at 22:37.30.

“She was trying to break 20 seconds,” said her father following the race. “But she suffered from side pains throughout the race.”

Following Abadilla and Tiare Welborn of Kula Intermediate & High (23:12.00), Kapa‘a spotted three runners: Kirsten McCracken (23:29.40), Sarah Faraola (23:32.90) and Takara Kunioka (23:37.00).

McCracken ran a strong race after recovering from dog bites she suffered while running prior to the last KIF cross country meet, said Kapa‘a coach Erin. Additionally, she was battling a cold at that race.

“Takara is supposed to be playing volleyball since she’s on the JV volleyball team, but she sacrificed part of the game so she could run for the team,” said Erin. “Now that the race is over, she’s heading for the volleyball games.”

But those efforts fell short as Waimea’s Charleen Miguel (24:34.80) and Elisa Broyles, Caralyn’s younger sister, (24:41.50) filled in the critical 11th and 12th overall slots over Kapa‘a’s Lily Fredericksen (24:57.00) for the slim margin of victory.

Twenty boys crossed the finish line in less than a minute with Waimea getting nine of its runners in that pack for the margin of victory.

Although Alex Lamadrid had the first finish at 19:10.90, Kapa‘a’s only other runner in the first 20 spots was Bradley Heiser (19:39.90) crossing 6th overall.

Waimea’s Benji Baclig was able to chip out the lead slot of the tight pack of runners, and held on to it until just before the halfway mark when the individual runners began making their moves.

Baclig finished the race 13th overall at 19:55.10, sixth for Waimea. Christian Tangalin appeared to bide his time, content to be at the front of the pack until he could make his move.

He finished at 19:15.50, third overall, but first for Waimea.

Kaua‘i boys, finishing second, had Chris Barich (19:26.60) crossing first for the Raiders at 4th overall and pushed five other runners across in the top 20.

Brian Whitlatch (20:00.00) was the first Island School runner at 16th overall.

With the completion of the KIF championships, runners now prepare for the Honolulu Marathon Hawai‘i Cross Country State Championships which will be held on Oct. 31 hosted by Hawai‘i Preparatory Academy.

KIF cross country championships

Oct. 18, 2008

Island School

Top 20 finishers

Girls 3 Mile Run

Caralyn Broyles    Wai    21:51.00

Natasha Abadilla    Wai    22:37.30

Tiare Welborn    Kula    23:12.00

Kirsten McCracken    Kap    23:29.40

Sarah Faraola    Kap    23:32.90

Takara Kunioka    Kap    23:37.00

Elizabeth Lamadrid    Kau    23:47.70

Jayme Jacinto    Wai    23:51.10

Alia Weiss    Kap    24:14.40

Charleen Miguel    Wai    24:34.80

Elisa Broyles    Wai    24:41.50

Lily Fredericksen    Kap    24:57.00

Lerae Hoopii    Kap    25:24.40

Maddison Duarte    IS    25:25.80

Elisabeth Young    Kau    25:40.60

Whitney Rowe    Kap    25:53.60

Maegan Wong    Kau    26:01.40

Melissa Gil Carlos    Kau    26:04.80

Cinzia Bruno    Kau    26:23.90

Raquelle Matayoshi    Kap    26:47.70

Boys 3 Mile Run

Alex Lamadrid    Kap    19:10.90

Brycen Phillips    Kula    19:11.60

Christian Tangalin    Wai    19:15.50

Chris Barich    Kau    19:26.60

John Joyce    Wai    19:38.10

Bradley Heiser    Kap    19:39.90

Darrel Nonaka    Wai    19:41.20

Daniel Degracia    Kau    19:41.50

Joshua Quinlan    Wai    19:43.80

Jason Chun    Kau    19:46.90

Peter Joyce    Wai    19:50.70

D.J. Herr    Kau    19:52.40

Benje Baclig    Wai    19:55.10

Malcolm Carter    Wai    19:56.10

Jonathan Tangalin    Wai    19:57.80

Brian Whitlatch    IS    20:00.60

Mason Vegas    Kau    20:02.80

Jose Lozano    IS    20:04.80

Jeremy Randolph-Flagg    IS    20:05.80

Micah Rita    Wai    20:10.60


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.