Waimea sweeps invitational

Three points separated the first and second place victory in the girls cross country competition Saturday.

Waimea edged out the Kapa‘a girls 36-33 points followed by Kaua‘i with 61 points.

Following the large two-minute margin by unattached runner Pierce Murphy, Waimea boys filled in the field, finishing with 20 points followed by Kaua‘i tallying 43 points to give the Menehune a sweep of the meet.

Island School was third at 88 points and Kapa‘a rounded out the field with 93 points.

Waimea High School coach Basil Walton was thrilled with the turnout for the pre-season invitational dedicated to long time coach and community supporter Basilio Fuertes.

“The meet was an important test-and-tune up for the runners and the school teams,” Walton said in an e-mail. “Medals were presented to the top 20 boys and girls in their respective races. Participation was good with more than 40 girls and more than 50 boys taking part.”

Caralyn Broyles, the Kaua‘i Interscholastic Federation champion from 2007, set the pace in the girls’ race with a 20:44 run over the three-mile course that snaked through the Menehune campus.

Another Waimea runner, Natasha Abidila (22:10.40) filled in second place followed by Elizabeth LaMadrid (23:23.00) of Kaua‘i, Kirsten McKracken (23:37.40) of Kapa‘a and Charleen Miguel (24:09.40) of Waimea filling in the top five finishing slots.

Following first finisher Murphy who crossed the three-mile course in 17:06, Waimea filled in second and third with Christian Tangalin (19:06.30) and Peter Joyce (19:27.60) crossing, respectively. Daniel DeGracia (19:39.10) of Kaua‘i and Benji Bacling (19:50.90) of Waimea filled in the top five boys’ slots.

The KIF cross country season begins this Saturday at the Waimea High School campus starting at 4 p.m.

Basilio Fuertes Invitational

Waimea High School

Sept. 7, 2008

Top 20 finishers

Girls 3 Mile Run CC

Broyles, Caralyn, Waimea 20:44.90

Abadilla, Natasha, Waimea 22:10.40

Lamadrid, Elizabeth, Kauai 23:23.00

McCracken, Kirsten, Kapaa 23:37.40

Miguel, Charleen, Waimea 24:09.40

Fredericksen, Lily, Kapaa 24:11.40

Weiss, Alia, Kapaa 24:28.50

Broyles, Elisa, Waimea 25:09.60

Faraola, Sarah, Kapaa 25:58.20

Niimi-Burch, Seri, Kapaa 26:14.20

Rowe, Whitney, Kapaa 26:20.70

Matayoshi, Raquelle, Kapaa 26:21.00

Young, Elisabeth, Kauai 26:29.40

Carlos, Melissa, Kauai 26:48.90

Kealoha, Kailyn, Kauai 26:53.10

Garcia, Chauncie, Kapaa 28:04.60

Wong, Maegan, Kauai 28:09.20

Taroma, Shasa, Waimea 28:23.60

Tottori, Shelley, Kauai 29:21.30

Spears, Lauren, Island 29:45.50

Boys 3 Mile Run CC

Murphy, Pierce, Unattached, 17:06.40

Tangalin, Christian, Waimea 19:06.30

Joyce, Peter, Waimea 19:27.60

Degracia, Daniel, Kauai 19:39.10

Bacing, Benjie, Waimea 19:50.90

Quinlan, Joshua, Waimea 19:53.90

Herr, DJ, Kauai 20:01.30

Lozano, Jose, Island 20:02.20

Tangalin, John, Waimea 20:03.30

Vegas, Mason, Kauai 20:04.20

Rose, Jake, Kapaa 20:13.70

Kali-Abihai, Kalen, Waimea 20:19.20

Barich, Chris, Kauai 20:20.20

Chun, Jason, Kauai 20:34.30

Quinlan, Daniel, Waimea 20:37.00

Joyce, John, Waimea 21:09.90

Saniatan, Jacobb, Kauai 21:13.50

Whitlatch, Brian, Island 21:15.10

Kanoho, David, Kapaa 21:17.60

Ostler, Ammon, Kauai 21:27.70.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.