2 Kaua‘i surfers make USA Surfing Team

Nathan Carvalho and Nage Melamed were named to the PacSun U.S.A. Surf Team following their performances in the Surfing America USA championships, on Sunday at Huntington Beach, Calif.

Carvalho was named to the Boys Under 18 division of the team after placing fourth in the Boys Under 16 division competition.

Carvalho finished behind winner Keanu Asing, who took both the 16 and 18 division, Taylor Thorne and Andrew Doheny of California.

Asing surfed on the Hawai‘i team at the Quiksilver International Surfing Association World Junior Championships earlier this year and was not eligible for the PacSun USA team.

Melamed won the Girls 16 Under division in the final minutes, overtaking South Carolina’s Keenan Lineback, to earn her spot on the national team.

Lani Doherty was the only other surfer selected for the team.

Up next for team USA will be the Pan Am games in Brazil and the junior world championships in Ecuador.

In other action at the championships, Kaua‘i’s Tatiana Weston-Webb won the Girls 12 Under division. Mia Melamed won the Over 18 division for the third consecutive year.

San Clemente, Calif.’s Kolohe Andino and Hawai‘i’s Ian Gentil defended their USA titles in Boys Under 14 and Boys Under 12, respectively. Gentil pushed Andino by taking second in Under 14.

For full results, see below.

2008 SIMA Surfing America USA Championships

San Juan Capistrano, Calif.

Boys Under 18:

1 Keanu Asing (HI)

2 Conner Coffin (CA)

3 Fisher Heverly (NC)

4 Chase Wilson (CA)

Girls Under 18:

1 Courtney Conlogue (CA)

2 Taylor Pitz (CA)

3 Sage Erickson (CA)

4 Kaleigh Gilchrist (CA)

Boys Under 16:

1 Keanu Asing (HI)

2 Taylor Thorne (CA)

3 Andrew Doheny (CA)

4 Nathan Carvalho (HI)

Girls Under 16:

1 Nage Melamed (HI)

2 Keenan Lineback (SC)

3 Taylor Pitz (CA)

4 Lani Doherty (HI)

Boys Under 14:

1 Kolohe Andino (CA)

2 Ian Gentil (HI)

3 Parker Coffin (CA)

4 Jacob Halstead (CA)

Girls Under 14:

1) Nikki Viesins (FL)

2 Quincy Davis (NY)

3 Tatiana Weston-Webb (HI)

4 Emily Ruppert (FL)

Boys Under 12:

1 Ian Gentil (HI)

2 Kanoa Igarashi (CA)

3 Daniel Glenn (FL)

4 Brogie Pansai (CA)

Girls Under 12:

1 Tatiana Weston-Webb (HI)

2 Miah Collins (CA)

3 Taylor Blake (CA)

4 Rachel Tilly (CA)


1 Cody Leutgens (NC)

2 Chris McDonald (NC)

3 Chad Maseri (CA)

4 Jared Williams (CA)


1 Mia Melamed (HI)

2 Jessie Carnes (FL)

3 Kayla Beckman (FL)

4 Mary Setterholm (CA)

Girl’s Longboard

1 Kate Easton (VA)

2 Anneke Barrie (CA)

3 Michelle Bautista-Layton (CA)

4 Chelsea Gresham (FL)

Women’s Longboard

1 Kayla Beckman (FL)

2 Blythe Bejan (CA)

3 Nathalie Glenn (CA)

4 Brittany Tupaj (TX)

Junior Longboard

1 Dylan Andrews (FL)

2 Eli Gillis (CA)

3 Weston Williams (NC)

4 Nelson Ahina (HI)

Men’s Longboard

1 Ty Roach (NC)

2 Nathan Floyd (TX)

3 La’akea Davis (HI)

4 Josh Rapozo (CA)

Senior Longboard

1 Mike Gallard (CA)

2 Terry Gallard (CA)

3 Kai Dilling (SC)

4 Gabe Frimbes (CA)


1 Stephen Moore (CA)

2 Zack May (TX)

3 Tim Senneff (CA)

4 Brady Martin (CA)


1Bill MacLoud (CA)

2 Mike Gallard (CA)

3 Kai Dilling (CA)

4 Terry Gillard (CA)


1 John Silver (CA)

2 Rich Fignetti (CA)

3 Patrick Schlick (CA)

4 Bob Higgins (CA)


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.