Breaking News

Breaking News

Prince Course team captures Aloha Section PGA team championship

KAHUKU — PGA Professional Steven Murphy teamed with Dana Palama, Keith Yamamoto and Rory Rayno, representing Princeville Prince Course to post a 13-under-par 131, winning the Aloha Section Team Championship and earning a berth in The 2008 PGA McGladrey National Team Championship, Sunday at the Turtle Bay Resort.

The Princeville Prince team won by a two-stroke margin and will compete among a 41-team field from Oct. 20 to 22, in the National Championship at Pinehurst, N.C. Resort. The total combined professional and amateur purse was $17,200 of which a $750 Pinehurst Resort gift card was presented to each player on the winning team. In addition, the winning pro earned a check of $1,750.

The Turtle Bay Golf team of Kevin Carll and amateurs Allan Kuaana, Fred Denault and Paul Ichimura finished runner-up at 133, and Daniel Hee and amateurs Darrell Izumi, Derek Hamada and Troy Higashiyama from Ko Olina came in third at 135.

There were 10 teams in the Section Team Championship field representing Kaua‘i, O‘ahu, Maui and the Big Island.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.