Kaua‘i surfers win their heats in Rip Curl

Hawai‘i’s top surfers have hit the water again, this time for stop No. 6 of the Association of Surfing Professional’s Rip Curl Pro Search in Indonesia.

The competition started early yesterday morning with the south swell blowing the surf to 6 feet.

Kaua‘i’s Andy and Bruce Irons, and Roy Powers were the only Hawai‘i surfers who won their heats in Round 1. O‘ahu’s Fred Pattachia finished second in his heat and Kaua‘i-born Pancho Sullivan finished third in his.

Pattachia and Sullivan must get past their Brazilian counterparts Leonardo Neves and Neco Padaratz in Round 2 if they want to continue in the competition.

Rip Curl Pro Indonesia

Wednesday, July 30

Round 2 Matchups

Heat 1: Taj Burrow (AUS) vs. Komang “Gogo” Suijaya (IDN)

Heat 2: Bede Durbidge (AUS) vs. Owen Wright (AUS)

Heat 3: Adriano de Souza (BRA) vs. I Made Garut Widiart (IDN)

Heat 4: Bobby Martinez (USA) vs. Bruno Santos (BRA)

Heat 5: Jeremy Flores (FRA) vs. Ricky Basnett (ZAF)

Heat 6: Adrian Buchan (AUS) vs. Dan Ross (AUS)

Heat 7: Tom Whitaker (AUS) vs. Jihad Khodr (BRA)

Heat 8: Tim Reyes (USA) vs. Travis Logie (ZAF)

Heat 9: Taylor Knox (USA) vs. Ben Bourgeois (USA)

Heat 10: Jordy Smith (ZAF) vs. Royden Bryson (ZAF)

Heat 11: Dane Reynolds (USA) vs. Daniel Wills (AUS)

Heat 12: Fredrick Patacchia (HAW) vs. Leonardo Neves (BRA)

Heat 13: Pancho Sullivan (HAW) vs. Neco Padaratz (BRA)

Heat 14: Jay Thompson (AUS) vs. Mikael Picon (FRA)

Heat 15: Ben Dunn (AUS) vs. Heitor Alves (BRA)

Heat 16: Luke Munro (AUS) vs. Mick Campbell (AUS)

Round 1

Heat 1: Rodrigo Dornelles (BRA) 10.90, Jeremy Flores (FRA) 9.87, Jay Thompson (AUS) 7.73

Heat 2: Damien Hobgood (USA) 10.90, Bobby Martinez (USA) 7.50, Travis Logie (ZAF) 3.13

Heat 3: Tiago Pires (PRT) 12.10, Adriano de Souza (BRA) 11.34, Pancho Sullivan (HAW) 9.10

Heat 4: C.J. Hobgood (USA) 15.84, Fredrick Patacchia (HAW) 15.33, Jihad Khodr (BRA) N/S

Heat 5: Andy Irons (HAW) 18.40, Dane Reynolds (USA) 10.17, Daniel Ross (AUS) 5.37

Heat 6: Roy Powers (HAW) 14.00, Bede Durbidge (AUS) 12.34, Ricky Basnett (ZAF) 11.23

Heat 7: Joel Parkinson (AUS) 18.40, Bruno Santos (BRA) 18.03, Jordy Smith (ZAF) 14.50

Heat 8: Kelly Slater (USA) 19.17, Tim Reyes (USA) 15.00, Komang “Gogo” Suijaya (IDN) 9.33

Heat 9: Mick Fanning (AUS) 14.67, Taylor Knox (USA) 6.93, Owen Wright (AUS) 6.60

Heat 10: Bruce Irons (HAW) 17.77, I Made Garut Widiart (IDN), 12.43, Taj Burrow (AUS) 11.83

Heat 11: Chris Ward (USA) 17.03, Ben Bourgeois (USA) 16.23, Adrian Buchan (AUS) 16.00

Heat 12: Kai Otton (AUS) 15.10, Ben Dunn (AUS) 10.84, Royden Bryson (ZAF) 10.40

Heat 13: Luke Stedman (AUS) 8.50, Luke Munro (AUS) 8.00, Daniel Wills (AUS) 6.10

Heat 14: bDean Morrison (AUS) 14.80, Leonardo Neves (BRA) 14.44, Mick Campbell (AUS) 12.90

Heat 15: Kieren Perrow (AUS) 17.70, Tom Whitaker (AUS) 10.67, Neco Padaratz (BRA) N/S

Heat 16: Dayyan Neve (AUS) 15.83, Heitor Alves (BRA) 10.53, Mikael Picon (FRA) 10.17


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.