All-Kaua‘i Jr. Lifeguard team named

Thirty participants in the Kaua‘i Junior Lifeguard program were named to the team heading to O‘ahu to defend its state title, Aug. 2.

The members of the traveling team were named following the Kaua‘i Championships which were held over the weekend at Kalapaki Beach.

Roy Yamagata, one of the water safety officers who served as an instructor for the program, said Kaua‘i is the four-time state champion and will be facing some tough competition from other islands who want the honor.

Those named to the all-Kaua‘i team include, in alphabetical order, Chatson Barrett, Christopher Barich, Shawna Blackford, Caralyn Broyles, D.J. Cremer, Kara Dastrup, Kawai Davis, Hunter Ewald, Sarah Faraola, Casie Ford, Kiana Fores, Lily Fredericksen, Peter Joyce, Linea Koehler, Ryann Linthicum, Anya Littlefield, Riles Martinez, Carly Matsumoto, Mattaniah Milbrand, Brycen Phillips, Emma Rausch, China Soria, Keokiana Smith, Micaiah Stine, Dereyn Tamashiro, Christian Tangalin, Jonathan Tangalin, Victoria Terrazas, Tiare Welborn and Kaimana Wong.

Kaua‘i’s team of junior lifeguards are the only island team to have won four consecutive years.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.