Kua advances in Manoa Cup

T.J. Kua of Lihu‘e advanced to the third round of the Manoa Cup by defeating David Saka, 5 and 4, yesterday at the O‘ahu Country Club.

Kua tees off at 7:49 a.m. today with David Fink.

Kaua‘i’s other golfers were eliminated from match-play competition on the first day.

Kaua‘i Interscholastic Federation champion Cory Oride lost to Kellen-Floyd Asao, 4 and 3. Kellen Watabu, who will play in next month’s U.S. Amateur Public Links Championship in Colorado, lost to Jon Burkard, on Tuesday.

Art Fujita, 1964 Manoa Cup Champion, shot an 80 in Monday’s qualifier and missed the cut by one shot.

The Manoa Cup is the oldest golf tournament in the state and is celebrating its 100th anniversary this year.

Much like the PGA’s Masters Championship, the winner of the Manoa Cup is fitted with a green jacket.

Many of Hawai‘i’s greatest golfers have played in and won the Manoa Cup. Between 1920 and 1934, Francis H. I‘i Broan captured the title a record nine times.

In a similar 15-year span, between 1961 and 1975, Ken Miyaoka won it six times. Kop, George H. Angus and Charles Makaiwa won four times.

Kaua‘i’s David Ishii, who won the PGA’s Hawaiian Open in 1990, won this tournament before going pro.

The competition concludes on Saturday.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.