Minor League All-Stars off to District 1

KAPA‘A — The Kawaihau Minor League All-Stars will be leaving tomorrow to participate in the Little League District 1 tournament that starts Friday and runs through June 21 on O‘ahu.

Fig Mitchell, one of the Kawaihau Community Little League coaches, said with the Minor division series complete, the team goes on to play in the District 1 tournament. Should the team win in that tournament, it advances on to the state tournament.

Mitchell said there are seven teams that make up District 1 including the Kawaihau Minor League All-Stars. The other teams include an A and B team from Kailua, an American and a National team from Kaneohe, Kahalu‘u and Kainalu.

“Kawaihau will play seven other teams in this double elimination tournament,” said Larry Barton, one of two assistant coaches for the all-star team.

Mitchell said the District 1 tournament for the Major League All-Stars will be held at the New Kapa‘a Ball Park.

“Kawaihau will be hosting the seven other teams from the District 1,” Mitchell said. “From here, the winner advances to the state playoffs.”

Head coach for the squad is Luther Yam with Barton and Philip Villanueva as assistant coaches.

Team members include Mathias Davis, Bradley Villanueva, Thomas Stern, Tyler Barton, Tyrell Aiparivera, Shain Davis, Chaz Pacleb, Justis Berrett, Denmark Aladin, Joshua Blaine, Keola Lutz, Grant Mitchell, Matthew Cummings and Falcon Johnson.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.