Kaua‘i High School Chorale gives out awards

Four students are winners of the “Ruth Luka Goo Memorial Chorus Award. This award is a perpetual award to honor Ruth Goo who died suddenly in February of 2006. Goo was a 20- year employee for Kaua‘i High School as head security. She loved the chorus and supported it in many ways.

Students who receive the award must meet this criteria: participated in chorus for at least three years during high school; shown consistent growth as a musician and leader; illustrated integrity of character; embodies the love of singing; and is the high quality example of a Kaua‘i High School Chorus student.

Students receiving the Goo award this year are: Juno Ann Apalla, Gabriel McMullen, Kelly Nichols and Laura Nichols. Meleho‘ala Ng received the Choral Director’s Award for “outstanding contribution and selfless contribution.”

Grade-level awards were chosen by student vote. Awards were given for “musicianship, integrity, readiness and love of singing.” Freshman Award — Ian Cody Agpaoa; Sophomore Award — Jorey Cantu; Junior Award — Justin Hamasaki; and Senior Award — Jodi Fukushima.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.