Larsen makes it a clean sweep at NSSA Hawaii Conference RVCA Regional

Granger Larsen of Lahaina, Maui, made it a clean sweep earlier this season in the Explorer Juniors, Explorer Men and Open Men to take top honors at the RVCA Regional of the NSSA Hawaii Conference 2007 awards ceremony.

As one of the crop of top Hawai‘i surfers on both the amateur and junior pro levels, Larsen is the first surfer, since director Bobbi Lee has taken the reign, to win three titles at the regionals.

“We’ve had surfers win two divisions but I’ve never seen such a dominating performance by one surfer in taking three titles,” said Lee in a release. “This is a first for the RVCA Regionals.”

Larsen said he was excited to have won his first regional final and receive the outstanding Heavywater Man award.

Along with that, the night was filled with emotional speeches and awards given including Scholar Athletes receiving a $2,500 Kemper Trust Educational fund to Cedric Caires and Ally Brown, recipients.

The Freddie P. award for outstanding surfer (round-trip ticket to the Nationals) went to Isaac Stant; the Rory Parker Award for outstanding surfer (round trip to the Nationals) went to Kalen Galtes.

The Hawaiian Huricane Award for a female surfer (round trip to Nationals) went to Alyssa Quizon.

The Jason Bogle Award- (Hawaiian Island Creations surfboard) went to Taylor Daly, and finally, the Kalani Robb Most Inspirational award (surfboard) went to Nage Melamed.

The next stop for the qualifying surfers is the National Championship at Lowers Trestles in San Clemente, Calif., considered the premier United States amateur surfing event, from June 20 through 30.

RVCA NSSA Regional Results

Open Divisions

Mini Grom

1. Benji Brand (Oahu)

2. Ian Gentil (Maui)

3. Kalani David (Oahu)

4. Chaz Kinoshita (Maui)

5. Seth Moniz (Oahu)

6. Joshua Moniz (Oahu)


1. Koa Smith (Kauai)

2. Luke Hitchcock (Kauai)

3. Dylan Aoki-Walsh (Maui)

4. Lahiki Minamishin (Hawaii)

5. Isaiah Moniz (Oahu)

6. Kaoli Kahokuloa (Molokai)

Junior Men

1. Kiron Jabour (Oahu)

2. Matty Costa (Oahu)

3. Tanner Hendrickson (Maui)

4. Dylan Goodale (Kauai)

5. Ezekiel Lau (Oahu)

6. Makana Eleogram (Maui)


1. Granger Larsen (Maui)

2. Kai Barger (Maui)

3. Nathan Rex (Kauai)

4. Billy Kemper (Maui)

Senior Men

1. Dale Sabate (Oahu)

2. Christian Budroe (Oahu)

3. Bryan Suratt (Oahu)

4. Ray Shito (Oahu)

Open Women

1. Malia Manuel (Kauai)

2. Leila Hurst (Kauai)

3. Nage Melamed (Kauai)

4. Coco Ho (Oahu)


1. Cedric Caires (Oahu)

2. DK Walsh (Maui)

3. Sean Walsh (Maui)

4. Megan Apo (Maui)

5. Slater Trout (Hawaii)

Explorer Divisions


1. Keala Naihe (Hawaii)

2. Kaoli Kahokuloa (Molokai)

3. Kain Daly (Maui)

4. Nathan FLorence (Oahu)

5. Makai McNamara (Oahu)

6. Kalen Galtes (Kauai)


1. Keanu Asing (Oahu)

2. Davey Brand (Oahu)

3. John John Florence (Oahu)

4. Tanner Hendrickson (Maui)

5. Nick Falbo (Maui)

6. Kyle Galtes (Kauai)

Junior Men

1. Granger Larsen (Maui)

2. Kai Barger (Maui)

3. Kekoa Cazimero (Oahu)

4. Nathan Rex (Kauai)

5. Dege O’Connell (Maui)

6. Chas Chidester (Oahu)


1. Granger Larsen (Maui)

2. Nathan Rex (Kauai)

3. Kai Barger (Maui)

4. Chas Chidester(Oahu)

5. Alex Smith (Kauai)

6. Dylan Goodale (Kauai)


1. Carissa Moore (Oahu)

2. Malia Manuel (Oahu)

3. Leila Hurst (Kauai)

4. Nage Melamed (Kauai)

5. Alessa Quizon (Oahu)

6. Alisha Gonsalves (Oahu)


1. Carissa Moore (Oahu)

2. Coco Ho (Oahu)

3. Leila Hurst (Kauai)

4. Kailee Krebs (Oahu)

5. Monyca Byrne-Wickey (Maui)

6. Erika Steiner (Kauai)

Official Sponsors of the NSSA Hawaii Conference RVCA Regionals Xcel Wetsuits, Etnies Shoes, Nixon Watches, Smith Optics, Heavywater Magazine and Television


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.