Hawai‘i ACLU elects board, officers

The American Civil Liberties Union of Hawai‘i recently concluded elections for its Board of Directors and leadership.

Barbara A. Ankersmit, Ibrahim Aoude, Rick Schneider, Esther Solomon (Kaua‘i) and Patrick Y. Taomae were each elected for a 3-year term.

Elected as officers for a 1-year term:

• Sheryl L. Nicholson, president;

• Jory Watland, VP;

• Roger W. Fonseca, secretary and affiliate affirmative action officer;

• Pat Hammers, treasurer;

• Barbara A. Ankersmit, at-large;

• Pamela Lichty, at-large;

• Jeffrey Hong, National Board representative.

The newly elected members join current board members George Atkins, Barbara L. Franklin (Big Island), Sat K. Freedman, Marianita Lopez, Andrea Low and Moana Yost.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.