Eleele earns most oustanding honors

Eleele School nearly swept every team award at the County of Kaua‘i’s 2006 Age Group Track Meet at Vidinha Stadium last weekend.

The Westside school earned the distinction of most outstanding team, while taking home first place honors in the boys and girls divisions. Waimea Canyon School won both middle school divisions. St. Catherine School finished second and Wilcox School came in third in the boys competition. In the meantime, the two schools swapped positions in the girls contest, with Wilcox nabbing second and St. Catherine coming in third.

The meet consisted of three divisions, 8-9, 10-11, and 12-13. In 8-9 softball throw action, Kilauea’s Davis Matthias (122-9.5) took first, followed by Wilcox’s Tristin Bukoski, Eleele’s Drayden Banasihan, Eleele’s Richard Rodriguez, King Kaumuali‘i’s Lance Cabinatan, and Tyler Barton (CHOK).

Wilcox’s Mike Curnan (149.5) won the 11-12 contest, followed by Chase Parangao (Eleele), Kalaheo’s Dominic Armstrong, Kekaha’s Winna Kaohelaulii, Wilcox’s Pono Tokioka, and Wilcox’s Shawn Taguas.

Wilcox’s Isiah Sarkodieh (6-3) won the standing broad jump in the 8-9 division, followed by Eleele’s Kevin Tacazon, Eleele’s Alvin Caballero, Kalaheo’s Jake Herbig, King Kaumuali‘i’s Tyler Fernandez, and Wilcox’s Cameron Henry.

Chiefess Kamakahelei’s Donovan Harris (7-6.25) won the 10-11 contest over St. Catherine’s Tom Lindsey, Eleele’s Russell Aceret, Eleele’s Kenneth Tacazon, Eleele’s Genmey Alop, and Eleele’s Chase Parangao.

In the 4×100 relay 8-9 division, St. Catherine took the top spot, followed by Eleele and Wilcox. Eleele also won the 10-11 contest over St. Catherine, Kekaha, and Waimea Canyon. St. Catherine’s Jacob Lewis finished first in the 50 meters (8.07) for the 8-9 division. Eleele’s Justin Silva, King Kaumuali‘i’s M. Gonsalves-Gregg, Waimea Canyon’s Destin Miguel, Kalaheo’s Darrian Garardo, and Eleele’s Randal Parbo rounded out the top six.

In the 10-11 contest, Eleele’s Russell Aceret (7.51) took home top honors, followed by teammates Kenneth Tacazon and Bricen Cayaban, St. Catherine’s Tom Lindsey, Wilcox’s Shawn Taguas, and Kekaha’s Jonathan Tangalin. In the 100 meters 8-9 division, St. Catherine’s Jacob Lewis (15.68) finished in first, followed by Wilcox’s Isiah Sarkodieh, CHOK’s Jonah Stokes, St. Catherine’s Troy Spears, King K’s M. Gonsalves-Gregg, and Wilcox’s Tristin Bukoski.

Island’s Dade Apao won the 10-11 100 meters, followed by St. Catherine’s Tom Lindsey, Eleele’s Isaac Fierro, Kalaheo’s Kyren Rapacon, Waimea’s Kekoa Kali, and Kekaha’s Jonathan Tangalin. St. Catherine’s Troy Spears triumphed in the 8-9 200 meters (33.79), followed by Gonsalves-Gregg, Sarkodieh, Stokes, Tacazon, and St. Catherine’s Thomas Stern.

Apao took the 200 10-11 division, followed by Chiefess Kamakahelei’s Donovan Harrison, Fierro, Aceret, CHOK’s Justin Kauakahi, and Kali.

Eleele’s Justin Silva won the 400 meters 8-9 competition, followed by Spears, Bukoski, Lewis, CHOK’s Jack Wolfgramm, and Stokes.

Harrison claimed the 10-11 400 meters, followed by Eleele’s Bricen Cayaban, Fierro, Tangalin, Kauakahi, and Kalaheo’s Keoki Palau.

In the girls competition, Wilcox’s Blake Calderon (81-8) grabbed the 8-9 softball throw win over Kalaheo’s Lorinda Sasan, Wilcox’s Mahealani Rowland, Eleele’s Carolyne Gucusan, Wilcox’s Jenessa Maganoy and Shawna Ogata. In the 10-11 division, Waimea’s Gaylan Matagiese was victorious over the likes of Kalaheo’s Alyssa Vegas, Eleele’s Rea Platado, Wilcox’s Kristle Henry, Eleele’s Jessica Soriano, Kilauea’s Morel, and St. Catherine’s Tandal.

In the standing broad jump, Wilcox’s Kaylee Balbarino (5-7.5) took first in the 8-9 division, followed by Wilcox’s Asia Farley, St. Catherine’s Cierra Lum, Kalaheo’s Lorinda Sasan, Eleele’s Nicole Palacio, and Kilauea’s Geiger Moriela.

Sondra Jacinto of Wilcox (6-4) won the 10-11 competition, followed by St. Catherine’s Natalie Lewis and Taylor Ochoa, Wilcox’s Kristle Henry, Soriano, and CHOK’s Tabitha Kauakahi.

Eleele won the 4×100 relay 8-9 contest over Wilcox, Kekaha, St. Catherine, King K and Eleele, who took the 10-11 contest, followed by Wilcox, Kekaha, St. Catherine’s King K, and Eleele. King K’s Shatres Ah Nee (8:34) was the winner in the 50 meters (8-9) over Eleele’s Tiara Soliven, Eleele’s Janel Papa, King K’s Joni Hashizume, Wilcox’s Kayecee Cervanes, and Wilcox’s Mahealani Rowland.

Eleele’s Kiana Soliven took the 10-11 50 meters, followed by teammate Hollyann Kaiakapu, St. Catherine’s Taylor Ochoa, Kekaha’s Rochelle Kawahelau, Wilcox’s Teesha Tani, and St. Catherine’s Natalie Lewis.

Ah Nee won the 100 meters 8-9 contest over Soliven, St. Catherine’s Sierra Luna, Cervantes, and Farley.

Vegas won the 10-11 100 meters, with Soliven, Wilcox’s K. Louis-Diamond, Kekaha’s Rochelle Kawahelau, Ochoa, and CHOK’s Chloe Stokes rounding out the top six.

Farley triumphed in the 8-9 200 meters, followed by Eleele’s Raina Molina, Papa, Cervantes, Kekaha’s Bethany Tangalin, and St. Catherine’s Kaimi Moniz.

In the 10-11 200 meters, it was Eleele’s Rea Platado taking the cake, followed by Kaiakapu, Vegas, Louis-Diamond, Wilcox’s Tresha Tani, and Hashizume.

In the 400 meters 8-9 division, Soliven finished first, followed by Papa, Moniz, Eleele’s Taylor Gaspar, St. Catherine’s Elizabeth Lindsey, and Molina.

Kawahelau won the 10-11 400 meters, followed by Platado, Soliven, Kaiakapu, Louis-Diamond, and Hashizume. In the 12-13 girls division, Waimea’s Alana Wilson won the softball throw over teammate Bronte Acosta and Melia Aki of Chiefess Kamakahelei.

Kelsey Cadiente of Chiefess won the standing broad jump over Waimea’s Bronte Acosta, Waimea’s Shandell Apilado, Shantyle Bilgera of Chiefess, and Raelyn Bonilla.

Cadiente cruised in for the 100 meter win over Malia Kagawa, Kainoa Naihe, and Wailea Kaneali‘i of Chiefess, and Brittney Ellis and Bronte Acosta of Waimea.

Cadiente took the 200 meters over Waimea’s Jayme Jacinto, Kagawa, Spears, and Waimea’s Jaylicia Patricio. Jacinto ran away with the 400 meters, followed by Spears, Naihe, and Waimea’s Jade Cano. Spears grabbed the 800 meter title.

In the boys 12-13 division, Waimea’s Shawn Tavares took the softball throw championship over teammate David Kaohelaulii, St. Catherine’s Calvin Rux, and CHOK’s Taylor Montgomery.

Waimea’s Nelson Acosta won the standing broad jump over teammate Chris Tangalin and Montgomery. Acosta also won the 100 meters over Kaohelaulii, Tavares, Rux, and Waimea’s Kaipo Kali.

Acosta continued to dominate in the 200 meters, followed by Kaohelaulii, Rux, Tavares, and Kali. Tangalin cruised in for the 400 meter win over Waimea’s Stevenson Rivera, Kapa‘a’s Kanoa Naratez, Kula’s Pierce Murphy, and Kali.

Murphy won the 800 meters, followed by Rivera, Naratez, and Tangalin.

For more information on the event, contact meet director Sam Arashiro at 241-4465.

• Duane Shimogawa Jr., sports editor, may be reached at 245-3681 (ext. 257) or kauaisports@kauaipubco.com.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.